Chocolate Liqueur Souffles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
This turned out wonderful. Not for the novice cook as you do have to juggle many tasks but that said this was my first souffle in years. It is a forgiving recipe. I roughly halved ingredients. I did not have chocolate liquor and used brandy instead. I made a small hole in the top and stuffed the souffles with the melted chocolate chips (I added a bit of butter to the chocolate chips and melted it in the microwave to help with consistency). Still fantastic. I watched several YouTube videos on how to make a souffle before attempting this- I would highly recommend doing this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
Thank you for sharing this delicious recipe! The only ingredients I altered about the recipe was that I substituted the quantity of milk with heavy cream. And for the gal who asked about what size ramekin: I have single serving ramekins (7oz) and was able to use this recipe for 4. The chocolate chips he noted as ''melted (optional)''; I used a bit of intuition that he meant for the drizzle of the raspberry at the bottom of the souffle. If he meant it like that or not, I did it anyway and they came out very delicious! Bravo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KitchenGhoul

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
It would really help to know what size ramekins are needed. Also, you never said what to do with the chocolate chips. I wonder if this recipe can be made in one large souffle dish, and if so, what size? Feb.10 Update...thanks for telling the ramekins size, David's Chimpy! I also used a little intuition and removed "of the raspberry" from your statement about the chocolate chips, to understand what you meant. I think you're correct and the melted chocolate chips are to be drizzled in the bottom of the ramekins, along with the optional raspberry in each.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SEWVERYTALL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
I was so dissappointed! I was so excited to make this dessert and it was just a massive dissappointment. I have to say it was one of the easier souffle recipes I have done and they raised beautifully and were absolutely PERFECT consistency, but the taste left much to be desired. The chocolate flavour was pretty much non-existent. I did not do the optional melted chocolate or rasberry in the bottom which I think would have made it better, but these tasted way too eggy and not NEARLY chocolatey enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: White Lake, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jonnyfleur
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
came out perfect, they rose 3 centimeters out of the dish. Perfect texture and taste. I drizzled a chocolate and kahlua sauce on them with rasberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
The first souffle I've ever tried to make or taste, this recipe turned out beautifully! The raspberries/chocolate in the bottom are a must - I don't think I would have cared much for it otherwise. Using whipping cream instead of milk was a great idea as well. In all honesty though - I like a chewy brownie better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
I did it... today I am officially a MASTER BAKER!! Great recipe and easier than I thought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
I am an intermediate scratch baker. First stab at souffles and this was encouraging. They rose beautifully but then fell. I think they were overhanded because I put them in large ramekins but found I had to use smaller ones for four servings. I use the 3-ish inch ones that are maybe 1.5 inches tall for 4 servings. A bit too eggy and not enough chocolate for my taste. I would do a lot more choc chip ganache if I made again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
Absolutely delicious - excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Heather
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
I've made this twice now both times I used a gluten free mix (better batter) and the second time it was also dairy free. We have some food allergies in the family but both times they turned out great! Even those who can eat gluten and have the dairy fully enjoyed these with a little raspberry sauce, powdered sugar. The dishes were nearly licked clean!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Keller, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chocolate Pot De Crème

Make a fancy, grown-up version of an old favorite--chocolate pudding.

Tiramisu Chocolate Mousse

See how to prepare the perfect topper to a romantic dinner.

Chocolate Lava Cake

Make rich and impressive single-serving chocolate cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States