Chocolate Liqueur Souffles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
This turned out wonderful. Not for the novice cook as you do have to juggle many tasks but that said this was my first souffle in years. It is a forgiving recipe. I roughly halved ingredients. I did not have chocolate liquor and used brandy instead. I made a small hole in the top and stuffed the souffles with the melted chocolate chips (I added a bit of butter to the chocolate chips and melted it in the microwave to help with consistency). Still fantastic. I watched several YouTube videos on how to make a souffle before attempting this- I would highly recommend doing this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
It would really help to know what size ramekins are needed. Also, you never said what to do with the chocolate chips. I wonder if this recipe can be made in one large souffle dish, and if so, what size? Feb.10 Update...thanks for telling the ramekins size, David's Chimpy! I also used a little intuition and removed "of the raspberry" from your statement about the chocolate chips, to understand what you meant. I think you're correct and the melted chocolate chips are to be drizzled in the bottom of the ramekins, along with the optional raspberry in each.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SEWVERYTALL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
Thank you for sharing this delicious recipe! The only ingredients I altered about the recipe was that I substituted the quantity of milk with heavy cream. And for the gal who asked about what size ramekin: I have single serving ramekins (7oz) and was able to use this recipe for 4. The chocolate chips he noted as ''melted (optional)''; I used a bit of intuition that he meant for the drizzle of the raspberry at the bottom of the souffle. If he meant it like that or not, I did it anyway and they came out very delicious! Bravo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KitchenGhoul

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jonnyfleur
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
came out perfect, they rose 3 centimeters out of the dish. Perfect texture and taste. I drizzled a chocolate and kahlua sauce on them with rasberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
I did it... today I am officially a MASTER BAKER!! Great recipe and easier than I thought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
I was so dissappointed! I was so excited to make this dessert and it was just a massive dissappointment. I have to say it was one of the easier souffle recipes I have done and they raised beautifully and were absolutely PERFECT consistency, but the taste left much to be desired. The chocolate flavour was pretty much non-existent. I did not do the optional melted chocolate or rasberry in the bottom which I think would have made it better, but these tasted way too eggy and not NEARLY chocolatey enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: White Lake, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
Absolutely delicious - excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
The first souffle I've ever tried to make or taste, this recipe turned out beautifully! The raspberries/chocolate in the bottom are a must - I don't think I would have cared much for it otherwise. Using whipping cream instead of milk was a great idea as well. In all honesty though - I like a chewy brownie better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
I am an intermediate scratch baker. First stab at souffles and this was encouraging. They rose beautifully but then fell. I think they were overhanded because I put them in large ramekins but found I had to use smaller ones for four servings. I use the 3-ish inch ones that are maybe 1.5 inches tall for 4 servings. A bit too eggy and not enough chocolate for my taste. I would do a lot more choc chip ganache if I made again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
Was an easy to make recipe especially for my first souffle, but I found it a wee bit bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SaraAnderson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Galway, County Galway, Ireland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Pot De Crème

Make a fancy, grown-up version of an old favorite--chocolate pudding.

Tiramisu Chocolate Mousse

See how to prepare the perfect topper to a romantic dinner.

Chocolate Lava Cake

Make rich and impressive single-serving chocolate cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States