Chocolate Layered Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
This was very good! I thought the cream cheese filling tasted a bit too "cheesy" so I added vanilla and more powdered sugar and whipped topping to taste. I also used mini personal sized pie crusts I found in the baking isle of my grocery store and used large zipper bags to pipe in both fillings, sprinkling toffee chips in between the layers. Finally topping with whipped cream and more toffee chips. Everyone at Thanksgiving raved about the pies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
The recipe does not state how long to bake the crust. It took mine about 25 minutes to brown. I added 1/4 cup sugar to the crust as many others recommended. If you follow the other measurements as written, the chocolate layer will end up very thin in comparison to the very rich cream cheese layer. I feel the pie would be better with the layers more equal so I definitely recommend increasing the amount of milk you add to the larger sized box of pudding. I ended up using about 1 1/2 cups milk or more and I think next time I might even cut the cream cheese layer ingredients in half and use 2 boxes of pudding to get a more chocolately pie. I substituted the lower fat neufchatel cream cheese without noticing any difference in richness at all. I topped the whipped cream layer with chocolate shavings and it was very pretty. This was a nice addition to my Thanksgiving pies this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
This pie has the exact consistancy, style as peanut butter pie. The crust is really what makes this pie, I plan on using it on other pies in the future. I found the flavors kind of lacking though, needs more umphh. Perhaps 4 oz. of unsweetened chocolate, 2 TBSP of margarine melted and 1/2 cup of powdered sugar mixed and added to the top of the pudding before the whipped topping is put on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TasteKing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mccomb, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Summit, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
This is a keeper. I made this pie for Thanksgiving dessert at my in-laws house. Big hit...even the picky toddler gobbled it up. As others suggested, I added white sugar (1/4 cup) to the crust. I could not find a 5.9 oz. package of instant pudding, so I used 2 3.6 oz. packages and followed the directions on the box for mixing, using 1/2 cup less milk than the directions called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hudson, New York, USA
Living In: Rotterdam, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
This pie is absolutely delicious and easy to prepare! I considered changing a few things before I made it, especially because the crust sounded like it might be bland or something, but I'm glad I decided to just stick with the original recipe. Perfect as-is! Just made this today for Thanksgiving, thanks for the great recipe! :]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorielle

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
Nice smooth pie. Simple enough to whip up on a weeknight, but tastes so good you can serve with holiday dinners too. I think this pie will taste good with other pudding flavors. I am going to try pistachio next. Perhaps a butterscotch as well. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Satsuma, Alabama, USA
Living In: Covington, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
This pie is super easy to make and tastes wonderful. I used pecan halves smashed into tiny pieces (almost dust) by a mallet for the crust. I had problems spreading the thick chocolate layer over the soft cream cheese layer, so I ended up running to the store to buy more pudding mix to help cover the whole pie without messing up the cream cheese layer. I did not add more milk like others have done because I liked the consistency of the thick pudding mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2006
This is a tasty pie, although the crust doesnt really like me. I think it wasnt cooked enough because it was falling apart really easily and it doesnt stay together when i cut it. Overall, its very good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2006
This was the first pie I ever made and was really excited about it. I did add vanilla and extra milk like other people had suggested. My husband got home and I was so excited to show it off. It was sooooo good, but oddley familiar. My mom made this growing up in a 9/13 pan and called it Four Layer Delight!!! I was planning to take it for Thanksgiving but now I am not so sure, being it was her recipe!! Very, very good, will definitly be making it throughout the years!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2006
I had some issues with the crust. Not sure why, but i ended up getting it to work. It seemed as though it had too much butter and just melted down. Anyway, after getting it to work the pie tasted wonderful. The filling is out of this world! Will make it again, maybe even for Thanksgiving as a new option.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

Rich Chocolate Truffle Pie

Rich, quick, and delicious, this amazing chocolate pie has it all.

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States