Chocolate Layered Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
Packaged whipped topping + packaged puddin = packaged flavor & texture. We picked at it to be polite. The concept is good though; I made it with a scratch pudding & real cream that I whipped & it's yummy. The "out of a box" flavor is what kills this recipe. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MSRM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
yammy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abou ali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
Simple, yet elegant with a great presentation, this dessert was a hit! I used a combo of pecans and cashews in my crust (didn't have enough pecans) and added a couple of tablespoons of brown sugar. Baked my crust for about 20 mins, perfect! I used light cream cheese, fat free Cool Whip and fat free pudding mix (like any of it matters!!). I do believe that 2/3 cup of milk is a typo in this recipe...the box directions are 2 cups, but I think it depends how thick you want your pudding layer to be within this pie. I used about 1 1/2 cups of milk and found it perfect! Decorated the top with semi-sweet chocolate shavings, just beautiful! Five stars plus and a repeat for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANJACKSON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pickering, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
This recipe has been in our family for many years now! It is always requested at holidays!!! I add a teaspoon of vanilla to the cream cheese mixture and I make the pudding according to directions on the package. You must follow the directions in this recipe to get the best crust!!! Pecans are a must! Absolutely delicious!!! For the one review that said it was runny and needed to be kept in the freezer, the only possible explanation I could have is that they used the whipped stuff in a can...not "COOL WHIP"...it makes a big difference. The stuff in the can does not hold together. I've tried it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CrdsGrl
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
Always have my family rate recipes and this one was a 9.5! Can't go wrong with the recipe. The only thing i did differently was use some graham cracker crumbs in the crust mixture and made my own whipped cream (always better than store bought). Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CrdsGrl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hobbs, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2009
Wow!!! Great recipe and really easy! It tastes like it's from a restaurant. I read other reviews, but made no big changes other than using two 4oz boxes of pudding instead of one 6oz box. Consequently, I changed the milk amount to 1 cup. I think the pudding is supposed to have a very thick consistency for flavor and to help the pie hold shape. I used a spatula and my fingers to spread the pudding layer. The best part by far was the crust! I didn't have pecans so I used mostly crushed walnuts with some macadamia nuts and pecans too. Fabulous and Easy!! I will use this crust for many other pies to come! My only complaint is that there was no estimate of time for browning the crust, so I had to check on it repeatedly. It ended up taking around 40 minutes to brown in the middle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carlee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
Excellent - this is so easy and everyone loves it! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
Very Delicious! I will definitely be making this again! The crust was what made it outstanding! Be warned that it does taste more like a cheesecake than a pie, but it was still delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melzee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Watsonville, California, USA
Living In: Modesto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2008
The flavor of the pie is great, but it doesn't hold well at all. I had to put it in the freezer overnight to get a decent firmness. Before I did so, every slice toppled over, and the whipped topping literally oozed out like liquid all over the pie and plate. It NEEDS to be put in the freezer, not the refrigerator.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: La Quinta, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2008
Very easy to make and good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

Rich Chocolate Truffle Pie

Rich, quick, and delicious, this amazing chocolate pie has it all.

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States