Chocolate Layered Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
I have been looking for this since the 80's.. no kidding! Thank you... btw,this is also known as 4 step dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
gotta score this recipe low because of the milk error. if it hadn't been for the comments, it would have ruined the entire pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl Combs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warner Robins, Georgia, USA
Living In: Bonaire, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
This recipe is much richer than the other versions I've had of this at potluck's. I just made this last night and seriously, it comes out to be 2/3 cream cheese/cool whip mixture to 1/3 pudding. In my opinion, I think it needs to be the other way around (2/3 pudding, 1/3 cream cheese) so that you're not overwhelmed with this almost sickeningly-sweet cream cheese mixture, but hey, that's just my opinion. Next time I make this, I will definitely cut in half the cream cheese mixture. Also, follow the advice of others and do 1 1/2 - 1 1/3 cup milk instead of 2/3 cup. Just use as much milk as you prefer the consistency for. 1 1/2 cups milk is still PLENTY thick. Good luck!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joyful81

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
Love the cream cheese and chocolate together in this pie. Will definately make it again. I used about a cup of milk in the pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIO1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Abilene, Texas, USA
Living In: Early, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
this tastes just like a pie my grandma makes! the crust is amazing all on it's own!! i added a tsp vanilla to the cream cheese mixture as someone else suggested. wish i had toasted some pecans and coconut to go on top.....will def do that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
Just added a 1/4 cup sugar to the crust. Awesome pie, will make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spacek
Home Town: Phillips, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
Yummy - This was very tasty... I did make one shortcut ... used a store bought graham cracker crust. Also increased the milk in the pudding to 1 1/2 cups (used 2%). Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
This pie is a total hit!!! It will definately have to be a regular on the holiday dinner table!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
Definite typo-on the milk- I use 2 small packages of instant pudding and 3 cups milk. I've been making this recipe for years and everyone raves about it. I toast 1/2 cup pecans, 1/2 cup coconut flakes and a little butter, cool and sprinkle on top. For potlucks I bake in 9 X 13 pan- it's easier to serve and goes further.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
This pie is to die for! The recipe says 5.9oz. pkg instant chocolate pudding mix , which is a powder mix, which requires 2/3 cups of milk to make a pudding in the recipe. Not instant pudding. Hope this helps .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allen J.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

Rich Chocolate Truffle Pie

Rich, quick, and delicious, this amazing chocolate pie has it all.

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States