Chocolate Layered Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
This is sweet and indulgent, but very good. The other reviewers are right - the butter pecan crust really is amazing and makes this a stand-out. Otherwise, it's really just pudding, sugary cream cheese, and whipped cream (which--don't get me wrong--is delicious!). I made these adjustments: For the crust, I substituted half of the flour with graham cracker crumbs and added some sugar. It was hard to decide when to take it out of the oven. When I did, it was still kind of smushy, and only slightly brown. It turned out great though. I did as others recommended and cut in half everything involved with the cream cheese mixture part. A better ratio that way. I layered bits of toffee (about half of a Heath bag) on top of the cream cheese mixture. I used two 5.9 oz boxes of pudding mix and 2 and 2/3 cup milk. Worked great. I hate the artificialness of Cool Whip, so I made freshly whipped cream - If you haven't made it before, it is SO easy - look it up. You just need almost a whole 16 oz container of heavy cream (or whipping cream), some vanilla, and some sugar. I put toffee bits and chocolate shavings (just get a Hersheys bar and shave it with a vegetable peeler) on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
Another reviewer was right. 2/3 C. milk cannot be correct. My mom gave me a similar recipe 20 years ago that calls for 2 3-oz. pkgs chocolate pudding mixed with 3 C. milk. THAT is correct. Mom's recipe also has 2 T. sugar in the crust mix. I use chopped walnuts in the crust, instead of pecans. Chilling 1.2 - 2 hours is preferred, but not necessary at all. It's nice to top the top layer with chopped nuts and shaved chocolate for a pretty presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
I made this pie for Christmas, it was gone in a flash, I did change it a little, I used a boughten pie crust, I used 2 puddings and 1 3/4 cups of milk, I used chopped almonds instead of pecans, I put those on top of pudding. Thank you for sharing this recipe, I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
This pie is HEAVEN. I use the same recipe, but put in 9x13 pan. No adjustments needed, just a thinner crust
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by squirrel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Perham, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Hawley, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
This was pretty good! Everyone else loved it too :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Van Wert, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
Made for Thanksgiving dinner. Everyone loved it. I used more milk in the chocolate pudding than called for. What a great pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fatbobswife1969

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
Great pie - I agree with other reviews. Needs much more than 2/3 cup of milk to chocolate pudding. I used 1 1/2 cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA
Living In: Portersville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
I loved this pie!! Except for a couple minor changes. I added some oreo cookies into the crust, and a little less butter! Amazing! And extra milk in with the pudding. And nuts and chocolate syrup on the top! :) Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
My 4 year old and I just made this tonight! We had alot of fun. I would warn that the cream cheese filling is THICK and be careful when spreading as to not break your crust. We used an oreo crust in place of pecan. I also added a layer of mini chocolate chips before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Myra Oppy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
The milk amount needed to be changed to 1cup at least.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

Rich Chocolate Truffle Pie

Rich, quick, and delicious, this amazing chocolate pie has it all.

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States