Chocolate Layered Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2004
Excellent. I doubled the recipe and prepared it in an oblong cake pan. I used French Vanilla and Cheesecake pudding together. Topped with peanut butter chips, mini chocolate kisses and toffee bits for my husband's birthday dessert. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHURMAY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Zapata, Texas, USA
Living In: Denison, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2003
I have been looking for this recipe because Imy family loves it so much. Try it with fresh sliced peaches or strawberries. My family is not that big but at large dinners we have to make two, especially if it is peach season.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2003
My aunt makes a version of this recipe with chopped walnuts instead of pecans. She spreads the remaining nuts on top of the whipped cream layer. We've been bringing it to family parties for the past 15 years, and it's always the most popular dessert on the table!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2003
The recipe produces enough for two pies. It was good but not great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2003
what a great pie-- i have made this one years ago, but used a 9x13 baking dish and therefore more pudding, nuts, etc. i usually make it for large gatherings, since it's so much. everybody loves it in its chocolate incarnation, but i personally think it's best with a PISTACHIO pudding filling--mmmmmm! we call it "hoosier pudding pie".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2002
I made this for the first time last Thanksgiving and this year, everyone REQUESTED that I make it! I add chocolate shavings on top of the cool whip for decoration!!! AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ali_B

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Klein, Texas, USA
Living In: Montgomery, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2002
Nice & easy crust, very creamy smooth texture. I find Dream Whip topping nicer to use than the frozen topping. I could not find a 5.9ounce pkg of instant choc pudding anywhere? - all pkgs were 3.9ounce,(113g)With only 2/3 c milk this makes for a very thin chocolate layer. Will definitely make again but next time I will use more milk with the chocolate pudding (1 1/3c) as recommended in other reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2002
The amount of milk in this recipe is way off... had to add tons more. It stuck to my wisk it was so thick! I thought the cream cheese layer was too much compared to the amount of chocolate. Overall, not bad, but have had much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2002
This has been a hit at every potluck it's gone to, and is usually one of the first dishes that's gone.Thabjs for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stryker, Ohio, USA
Living In: Pittsford, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2002
GREAT!! I took other sugestions added Oreos to the flour crust, and also added a layer of crushed Oreos between the layers.YUMMY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

Rich Chocolate Truffle Pie

Rich, quick, and delicious, this amazing chocolate pie has it all.

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States