Chocolate Layer Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 17, 2012
The cake is excellent just as printed. There is no need for baking powder. The baking soda does the trick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
I wasn't sure how much baking powder to use and I found the frosting extremely hard to spread over the cake. Not as good as I was hoping it would be but my boyfriend enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
I have made this twice now and both times it has turned turned out wonderfully. However the second time I cut back on the coco & water mixture by about a third and it was still very rich and moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
the recipe from the book calls for 1tsp of baking powder and 1/4tsp of baking soda. also make sure to cut smaller slices then just 4 big ones. that would make each of the four slices over 1,000 calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CupcakePolly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waycross, Georgia, USA
Living In: Monroe, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
I had the same problem not knwoing how much baking powder to add, so i added 1/2 tsp, still too little. Cake was sorta dry. This recipe is not bad, but you can for sure find something better thats just as easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Justine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lesley Maria
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
I was looking for a simple cake recipe for my boyfriend's birthday. I doubled the ingredients so I could make a 'whole' cake. I had to bake it for an hour but it turned out fantastic! Everyone loved it so it's definitely going in the recipe book. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lesley Maria

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Durham, Durham, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2007
The ingredient list called for baking soda, and the instructions called for baking soda and baking powder--- how much baking powder?? I did not add the baking powder, because I didn't know how much. The cake was dry and tough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2007
This cake was awesome! It was moist and chocolatey! I made it for a work pot luck and it was gone real fast. Thanks again! I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States