Chocolate Layer Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 17, 2012
The cake is excellent just as printed. There is no need for baking powder. The baking soda does the trick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
I wasn't sure how much baking powder to use and I found the frosting extremely hard to spread over the cake. Not as good as I was hoping it would be but my boyfriend enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
I have made this twice now and both times it has turned turned out wonderfully. However the second time I cut back on the coco & water mixture by about a third and it was still very rich and moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
the recipe from the book calls for 1tsp of baking powder and 1/4tsp of baking soda. also make sure to cut smaller slices then just 4 big ones. that would make each of the four slices over 1,000 calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CupcakePolly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waycross, Georgia, USA
Living In: Monroe, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
I had the same problem not knwoing how much baking powder to add, so i added 1/2 tsp, still too little. Cake was sorta dry. This recipe is not bad, but you can for sure find something better thats just as easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Justine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lesley Maria
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
I was looking for a simple cake recipe for my boyfriend's birthday. I doubled the ingredients so I could make a 'whole' cake. I had to bake it for an hour but it turned out fantastic! Everyone loved it so it's definitely going in the recipe book. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lesley Maria

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Durham, Durham, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2007
The ingredient list called for baking soda, and the instructions called for baking soda and baking powder--- how much baking powder?? I did not add the baking powder, because I didn't know how much. The cake was dry and tough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2007
This cake was awesome! It was moist and chocolatey! I made it for a work pot luck and it was gone real fast. Thanks again! I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States