Chocolate Kiss Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2008
Awesome cookie!! My kids kept asking for more! We loved them the way they are! Didn't last long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2008
I really liked this recipe. I stuck exactly to the directions the 1st time and it was fantastic. The 2nd time I decided not to use nuts, and I subbed almond extract for the vanilla, and this was very good too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2008
Thanks for this wonderful recipe. I made a few changes. I replaced margarine with 1/2 cup applesauce to make the dough fat free. The dough was a bit difficult to deal with and to overcome that I kept my hands damp with some water and I just placed the kisses inside and rolled the dough in a ball. So it was balls instead of kisses shape. It tastes DELICIOUS! Happy baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
This recipe was great!!! However, the recipe is missing eggs. Add 2 eggs to the basic recipe and it will be perfect. Also, make sure that you use as little dough as possible and completely surround the kiss otherwise they really flatten. They still taste good but the kiss will not be a "surprise". We used toffee kisses and they were EXCELLENT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
Made these for a party and they were tasty! Didn'tcome out like the picture, but maybe if I'd chilled them for 10 minutes after shaping and before baking they would have retained their shape more. Still good though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
made 50 cookies with some dough left over, i did not use the nuts or icing sugar, very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lois Chaput

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
Delicious! Not as gooey as I expected though. I found it much much easier to melt the butter completely and wrap the warm dough around the kisses. It was too stiff when cold. Maybe margarine would have behaved differently though. I also ended up using a full 12 oz bag of kisses. I'll make a habit of keeping a good supply of these on hand in the fridge. They're wonderful! They make a delicious warm dessert, or snack, and they're also tasty the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robs

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
I thought these were very good. I used my food chopper to finely chop the walnuts, which made them the perfect size (almost a mince). My only problem, which was easily fixed, is that i have a tendency to make BIG cookies. I found after my first batch that I used too much dough around the kiss, resulting in a palm size flat cookie with a hump in the middle. After that I used just enough to cover the candy and they then came out like the picture. This is a crisp cookie--not chewy at all, and not too sweet. the candy inside is a great balance for flavors. Edit,one year later: I just made these again for Christmas adn they turned out even better than last year! I followed the recipe EXACTLY as it was written. Last year I subbed butter for margarine, and I think that was a mistake! These cookies help their shape and barely spread at all using the margarine. My hubby calls me a "butter snob" because that is usually the only thing I buy. I'm not even sure what made me change my mind and get margarine this year, but it was definitely worth it! I'll be using margarine in these form now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2006
Amazing! I made this and eveyone at work raved. Will include in my holiday plates as gifts. I loved the hershey's kisses w/ almonds and the hugs for the middle. Did not change recipe at all except for used butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2006
Decent recipe. The cookie dough is bland, but the sweetness of the chocolate makes up for that. My biggest complaint was that the cookie was very crumbly after it was baked. My kids loved them, though, and didn't mind the mess at all...of course.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CBRES821

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

Jumbo Dark Chocolate Cookies

These dark chocolate cookies will double your chocolate delight.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States