Chocolate Jumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 9, 2003
A soft cookie and although I prefer a firmer texture the flavor is top rate. I did not bother with the frosting and walnut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2003
My husband grew up eating "Jumbo cookies" and asked me to make them for him. He loved this recipe. The butter cream frosting was really good on the cookies. The dough seemed very thin and runny, so I added extra flour to some of them. However, the cookies that didn't have the extra flour were better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2004
It was really good, but the only problem was that it wasn't really all that moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2006
This is an EXCELLENT recipe!!!! 5 Stars!! I added a little extra flour although definately like the "exact" recipe better! Everyone just LOVED these cookie!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2009
This is an unusual cookie. I followed the recipe as written. The batter is the consistency of brownie batter. The cookies bake up very soft, cakelike, not normal cookie texture. I think they need more salt as well. The people I served these to either loved it or didn't care for them, split about 50-50 so I'm giving it 3 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
I was so thrilled to find this recipe. My grandmother used to make this moist, slightly spicey cookies and we all loved them! And this is darn close to hers! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
The one cup of molasses completely overwhelms the cocoa, so if you are expecting a chocolate cookie, you may want to look for another recipe. I knew this but I wanted to try this recipe because I love the flavor of molasses, therefore most spice cookies and cakes. This recipe just misses the mark however. My daughter liked it, but my husband and I were disappointed. We just felt the addition of cocoa just gave it an odd flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
My husband asked me to make these cookies for him...the recipe was easy, and, although I don't eat sweets I did try one....and then another...these are delicious cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacey Arlene

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States