Chocolate Irish Car Bomb Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2015
It is widely known that there is an alcoholic shot with this same name, however the shot as well as this cake is VERY OFFENSIVE. As an Irishwoman I can't believe how Americans make light of the violence of Irish history. Seriously.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
This makes great cupcakes too ...i always make a large batch to take to the pub with us, and they are well received.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SNOWBABIEFAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
A really unique, tasty cake! My only criticism is that the Irish cream layer was a funny texture - it didn't really blend up to a creamy consistency. Is there a difference between irish cream and irish cream liquer? Not sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by wanderterp
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
Delicious, rich cake! It was a real crowd pleaser for St Patty's Day brunch. I ended up mistakenly using cake mix that had pudding in it (and still used the pudding mix)--no issues!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
This cake was amazing! I could probably have left the glaze to get a little bit thicker but it was delicious nevertheless. Super moist and very easy to put together. I found the alcohol wasn't as overpowering as I thought it would be (such a relief!), but it really makes the cake stand out. This is definitely going to become a staple of my recipe box :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
This was great, a bit more complicated , but so worth the compliments. The alcohol is actually more obvious in the filling, than the glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
The cake was good, but I was really disappointed by the sugar glaze. It came out grainy even though I followed the directions. I'm not sure what I did wrong. I used butter as specified, white sugar (Domino's brand), and Irish Whiskey (Jameson's). Did anyone else have this problem?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2012
This cake is evn better (I know- it hardly seems possible!) if you use half the ammt of crm cheese and substitute marscapone for the other half. All marscapone does not work well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Denton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2012
Be careful; the effects of the alcohol do NOT bake out in the oven. At least, I felt it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
I was a little disappointed in the flavors in this, not very strong infact it pretty much passed for a chocolate cake withcreamcheese in it. will be making some flavor changes next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Diana's Guinness® Chocolate Cake

An ultra dark, ultra rich chocolate cake with a luscious chocolate icing.

Chocolate Beer Cupcakes with Whiskey Filling

Stout in the batter, whiskey in the chocolate filling, Irish cream in the icing!

Irish Car Bomb

See how to make a stout beer, Irish whiskey, and Bailey’s Irish Cream cocktail.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States