Chocolate Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2002
I must have done something wrong, because this didn't work for me at all. The chocolate wouldn't mix with the sugar, even using a mixer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2004
I wanted to use this for my Chocolate Gingerbread cut-out cookies. However, the icing was setting up too fast and forming a crust. So to adjust it for cookies, I added 3/4 cup more powdered sugar, 1 Tb more milk, and 1/2 Tb butter. I was then able to frost all my cookies perfectly well and sprinkled them with clear sparking sugar crystals (please note, the icing gets harder as the chocolate in it cools).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARFLOWER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2005
the icing came out okay, a little plastic in appearance, and it sets a little too fast. I decided to add 30ml of cream and used a double boiler. the cream was used to smoothen out the graininess from the sugar and to increase fat content to delay setting and increase pourability
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Ivan

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Paranaque, National Capital Region, Philippines

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2005
Perfect sugar cooking icing. Takes about 2 minutes to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2006
Very good. I followed STARFLOWER's review on this recipe except I didn't add 3/4 cup more sugar I only added a bit more than a 1/4 cup because the mixture was way too thick for more. I kept the batter in a double boiler and kept it over the heat to keep it from crusting. Work fast is all I can say - but it comes out very very pretty. I used a pastry bag to make zig zags, and flower shapes and black and white cookies(used the "Butter Icing for Cookies", from Barbara) and used the "The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies" recipe on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE
Reviewed: May 5, 2007
this is a great icing for frosting sugar cookies. It dries very quickly. I would not suggest using this for a cake or cupcakes, as it would be too hard to spread such a large amt. of it. I loved the flavor as well. Used Ghiradelli unsweetened chocolate blocks. Perfect amt. of chocolate. thanks for the easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2007
Quick simple basic Icing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
Sorry, will not make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lorena

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vigo, Galicia, Spain
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2008
i didn't feel like going to the store for icing one night and had all the ingredients for this one so i gave it a try! turned out great, and although like the others said it dries kinda fast but still was great for my cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2008
Tastes good, but unfortunately too difficult to work with. Sets up way too quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JXGALIK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

Creamy Chocolate Frosting

See how to make yummy chocolate frosting for cakes and cupcakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States