Chocolate Icebox Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2000
This is an adult chocolate lover's dream!! It really should not be wasted on children. Give them a pudding snack and they'll be just as happy...this is for the Mommas and the Daddies. I've made this many times with different variations on the same theme and was only disappointed once...when the dogs got into it first. :( I've added walnuts, used Chocolate Wafer Cookies instead of ladyfingers, used a spring form pan...which give it an 'ooohh lala' appearance, made two layers to give it a more interesting texture (something you can sink your teeth into), and topped it with fresh whip cream and fruit, or chocolate shavings. And semi-sweet chocolate chips work great...and easy to find. My favorite is all of them together. I am not a lover of cooking but this is one of my guilty pleasures. This is as good as anything you can get in a restaurant!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2005
This recipe is AMAZING! I live overseas, and couldn't find ladyfingers, so I used nilla wafers and layered it in a spring form pan. I also sliced strawberries and put them on top. Everyone I serve it to wants the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2001
I have been looking for this recipe - a childhood favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2007
My grandma used to make a variation of this and user chocolate wafer cookies is much easier and tastes much better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Matawan, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2002
Yum! This worked out excellent! Solved my chocolate need for the next couple of days. This one is a keeper and I'm afraid I'll be making it quite often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dover, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Niroszyckame
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
I was really torn between giving this four or five stars... It was really good and easy to make (I did make a couple changes to the assembly, I made it in a springform pan with the ladyfingers arranged along the edge and added a oreo crumb crust). I also used terry's chocolate orange for the chocolate which added an amazing flavour! I suppose the reason I was hesitant to give a five was that although I liked it how I made it, I think it would be a four without the crumb crust...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Niroszyckame

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Slave Lake, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2007
This is very good. Not a quick recipe to make though. The assembling is a little bit tricky. We actually got it wrong and then thought we made it wrong. We only were able to fill one loaf pan about half full with chocolate and then we noticed we cut the lady finger the wrong way. I assume it's supposed to be a very thin dessert. Everyone did love it and the choc. filling has a good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2006
This was super easy to make and tastes great! I brought it to a Christmas eve party and it went like hotcakes! Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SAXYBONE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
It seems unfair if I rated this recipe 4 stars because I didn't follow it to the letter. I prefer oreo crust rather than ladyfingers. I used ordinary dark chocolate that contains 62% cocoa for more bitterness. I found it a bit too sweet for me so next time I will add a bit more of whipped cream (300 ml). But overall I have to say this cake is perfect when I crave for a chocolate treat. It's light, fluffy, bitter and sweet. Oooh yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alyssa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
This is very similar to a dessert my mom used to make. So this is "comfort" food for me! A couple of things: (1) I like the chocolate cookie crumb crust better than ladyfingers but i guess that's personal preference (my mom used to make it in a piecrust, so that' another option) and (2) be very careful with the eggs since this is not cooked. In the old days, raw eggs were not an issue but these days it is health risk, so only use eggs that you are very sure of. It is a delicious and pretty easy recipe that I've never tired of.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States