Chocolate Gravy I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2000
I have been looking for a chocolate gravy recipe! This is great! My grandmother, who has passed on, used to make this and no one knew her actual recipe. (She used a little of this and a little of that) :) Thanks! This is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2001
I've been looking for a chocolate gravy recipe like my grandma's for a LONG time. This one comes the closest, so far. Next time, I will add less sugar and a bit more chocolate, though. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2001
I grew up eating my grandmothers chocolate and biscuits, this recipe is too sweet and not thick enough. I had to keep adding more flour to get it as thick as I like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2002
And all my freinds thought I was crazy. My Great-Great-Grandmother made this and it has been passed down through the generations. I'm so glad that I'm not the only one that likes Chocolate Gravy over warm buttered biscuits. For something even easier.. we use warm choclate pudding. the kind you have to cook...Thus Biscuits and Pudding... I'm so happy that I found this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2003
Chocolate gravy is a recipe passed on down from my great-grandma - however, "my" recipe has milk and vanilla extract instead of water - a much tastier gravy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2005
this is great, like my moms...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WILLOW1036

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2005
people thought I was crazy when I would tell them about the "hot chocolate" and biscuits we used to have for breakfast...They always thought it was the drink and when I would explain that it was chocolate gravy they would give me the weirdest looks...Now I know I am not alone...Thanks for the recipe..Now my kids will get to have hot chocolate and biscuits too...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2006
This is just like my husband's motherused to make. The only thing I use milk instead of water. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~*Lori*~*

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Decatur, Georgia, USA
Living In: Hamilton, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2008
I use milk, too. And I cook it in the microwave and stir it every two minutes until it's thickened.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
I loved this gravy,it was great over homemade butter biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Homemade Chocolate Sauce

See how to make delicious homemade chocolate sauce.

Mom's Country Gravy

Discover the secrets to smooth, creamy country gravy with no lumps.

Satiny Chocolate Glaze

See how to make a delicious glossy glaze for cakes, cookies, and donuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States