Chocolate Glaze I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2003
Easy to make and delicious. Very chocolatey and not too sweet. I put all the ingredients together in a glass bowl and microwaved it 15 seconds, stirred, then microwaved another 15 seconds, then stirred until blended and smooth. Perfect! (1000 watt microwave, your mileage may vary)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pinehurst, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2008
Perfect to top my chocolate cake--thick, glossy and chocolatey. This couldn't be easier or quicker. Just melt, pour and spread! Hubby's only criticism, and I have to agree, is that there wasn't nearly enough of it on the cake. Unless you're just using this to drizzle over the cake, you MUST double this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 15, 2002
This was excellent! I had to substitute honey for the corn syrup, and it turned out great. Made an excellent topping for eclairs. Held up well in the fridge. Great consistency, super quick, and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2006
Not what I was looking for- tasted like melted chocolate chips (of course that is yummy, but I wanted something different). It also kind of separated out and looked wierd and rubber-like on my cake. It didn't run down the sides either. I prefer Satiny Chocolate Glaze from this site. The recipes are similar, but that one works really well for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2007
A bit disappointed- I poured it over a bundt cake, and expected it to run down the sides, but it wasn't thin enough. Too gloopy. I used the microwave method- I suppose I should have nuked the butter and corn syrup as well, instead of mixing in after.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lanie23

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Eva Amber
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2007
A good recipe. I added some vanilla extract too. It set up well, and stayed nice and shiny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eva Amber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nichele
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
Very easy, no problems in double boiler, didn't need the corn syrup........
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nichele

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Junction, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2001
this glaze was so fast and easy, not to mention delicious. I've also made this glaze with milk chocolate chips instead of semi-sweet chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shearone
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
Excellent easy and delicious recipe for Chocolate Glaze - followed recipe exactly except doubled it. Made in microwave. For white design, I melted 1/4 cup of white chocolate morsels and 1 teaspoon of shortening together, drizzled in circles on top of cake and then took a tip of a knife and drew lines through. Fun recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
I made this twice (double batch both times) and I discovered the sequence of events that make this like a glaze, or make it thick. Frankly, I liked the way it turned out in the thick version for frosting the top of a single layer cake (the garbonzo bean choc cake which is better than it sounds.) For a glaze, microwave the chips and syrup together until melted. Then add all the butter and stir like crazy. For a thick fudgy frosting, melt the chips, then add the corn syrup and stir. It will seem too thick. Then add the butter about a teaspoon at a time until you get the consistency you want. It's tasty either way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hard Chocolate Glaze

A simple but decadent chocolate glaze that spreads on easy.

Satiny Chocolate Glaze

See how to make a delicious glossy glaze for cakes, cookies, and donuts.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States