Chocolate Ganache Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2007
Scared of the very word "ganache"? Well, you don't have to be with this recipe! This is THE easiest ganache recipe I've ever used. Since I was out of dark chocolate (which I highly recommend), I had to use semi-sweet chocolate chips--1 cup worth--and threw them into my food processor to save time and energy from chopping. Once they were all chopped up and the whipping cream (didn't have heavy cream, either)was nice and bubbly, I turned the processor on and slowly poured in the whipping cream. Stopped, scraped the sides, mixed it again, took the blade out (chunks of chocolate will stay on the blade, and you don't want the chunks of chocolate falling onto your cake when spreading the mix!), and put the mixture in the fridge for 15 minutes. When the mix was a few notches looser than wiggly jello, I slowly poured the mix over my chocolate truffle cheesecake (which was cooled completely). I had previously run a knife around the cheesecake and loosened the edges from the pan, then all but snapped the spring-form pan back into shape, leaving a slight space for the ganache to drip over the sides of the cake. Let the cheesecake refridgerate overnight and you've got a big hit! Note: after you've poured the ganache over the cake, use your finger to pop any air bubbles, so the finished product has a beautiful complextion. Also, the better the quality of choclate, the better the ganache. Don't go cheap on the choclate if you want a killer ganache!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
905 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zuperbre

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2002
If you whip this in your mixer for 5 minutes or until it changes from a dark brown to a light brown, it will make the most wonderful frosting! VERY YUMMY!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
860 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by baileybaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bailey, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2007
Outstanding and easy!!SO worth it for both flavour and presentation. Suggestions: Be EXTRA careful not to let any water get into your chocolate, as it will seize- not a good thing. Let the chocolate thicken a bit before pouring, place your cake on a rack over parchment paper for easy clean up, and take your cake off the rack and put on to your serving plate before the ganache has set- otherwise it can attach to the rack and tear when you lift it off. A wonderful recipe sure to win compliments from all!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
718 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amsuka

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2007
I thought this recipe would be really touchy and difficult to get perfect, but it was incredibly easy. I used it in the place of regular icing for a chocolate layer cake. First, I used 3 oz semisweet chocolate chips (that's all I could find) and 1/3 c. of cream with a little bit of Bacardi rum, and I put it in the freezer for a few minutes after mixing. I used an electric mixer to beat it up into a fluffy icing for between my layers. It seemed like it would be too thin for it to work, but it got perfectly fluffy and light brown and gorgeous. I then made another batch with the full portions but didn't beat it into fluffy icing, and used that for the top and the sides. It turned out gorgeous and everyone loved it. I don't think I'll ever make plain icing again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
241 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RABORELLO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salisbury, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
This was a great first-timer ganache recipe! I added 1/2 milk chocolate and 1/2 semi-sweet, as I like milk chocolate better. I used it over a devils food and cookie dough ice cream cake- too good for words! Everyone said I could put Cold Stone out of business! :) I am now trying it with White chocolate. Note to people using it as a frosting/icing: put it in the fridge for about 30 minutes- it will set up quicker and better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
228 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2006
excellent. i used to to coat a cheesecake that cracked and it looks beautiful. TIP: chill whatever you are going to coat first ... the ganache will adhere better. also, used a Hershey's Special Dark and semi sweet chips, and added vanilla cognac instead of rum. delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
180 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2009
Perfect and simple, especially for die hard chocolate lovers. This is very rich and intensely chocolate! I used Perugina Italian bittersweet chocolate and didn't use the optional rum. This was the perfect glaze for my Snickers Chocolate Peanut Butter Cake. Very reliable and versatile glaze or frosting. If used as a glaze, let it cool somewhat, until it's pourable and still warm. If used as a frosting, let it cool, then chill in refrigerator for a few hours, then whip it till light and fluffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
162 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by MRS TEMPEST
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2005
I added extra cream to this recipe and used it as a dipping sauce for strawberries. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
106 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRS TEMPEST

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Not Specified, Queensland, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2006
Love it, love it, love it! Turned out dark, glossy, and delicious! Very easy to make and very good to eat. I used it as a topping for Chantal's New York Style Cheesecake. The only thing i did differently was to use semi-sweet chocolate chips not bittersweet. It didn't make the color lighter and it tasted sweeter. Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Baricat
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
Fool-proof. Simple, lovely to look at, easy to make. I whipped it to use as a frosting. The taste quality of your finished product is completely dependent upon the type of chocolate you use. Caillebaut (I get it at Whole Foods) is the best I've tried. I'm sure Lindt or Godiva would be wonderful, as well. Be aware that made as written, it is "adult" type chocolate, meaning not very sweet, so to increase kid appeal you'd need to tinker with it, using part or all milk chocolate instead of bittersweet. To make it into a more "mainstream" type of frosting (though not cloyingly sweet) after whipping it, you can add a stick of softened butter, 1 tsp vanilla and 1 cup sifted powdered sugar. whipped again until it's stiff enough to spread. Additionally, doing this will "stretch" the amount so that you can easily fill, frost and decorate three 9" layers. This retains its shape as well as its appealing, mirror-like sheen. It will not crust, no matter how long you leave it out. As a decorative touch, I saved out about 1/4 cup of the original ganache (while liquid, before I whipped it to turn it into frosting) and later poured it over the frosted cake, letting it drizzle lazily over the sides, then placed a pile of chocolate shavings in the center. Get your cameras ready for a Kodak moment! Stunning presentation, positively DECADENT flavor!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baricat

Cooking Level: Professional


Displaying results 1-10 (of 672) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chocolate Ganache

See how to make rich homemade dark chocolate ganache.

Diana's Guinness® Chocolate Cake

An ultra dark, ultra rich chocolate cake with a luscious chocolate icing.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States