Chocolate Ganache Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Photo by Minx Reichard
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
Simple. Wonderful. I used coffee liqueur instead of rum to pair with a dark chocolate and toasted hazelnut cake. Just bitter enough to offset the sweet cream I put between the layers. For the reviewers who had trouble with this one turning out oily, not setting, etc: the quality of chocolate makes a huge difference. I don't want to mention any brand names, but with so few ingredients, if you use crappy store brand stuff that's mostly cocoa butter, you won't get a nice, smooth finish or ganache that performs as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Minx Reichard

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by spice_of_life
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
Easy and so very delicious! I tried replacing the rum flavoring with almond (a little goes a long way!) and it was very good. My kids prefer it made with semi-sweet chocolate without any added flavorings, so this is how we make it more often than not. It is delicious with the Heavenly White Cake recipe here. And fresh strawberries are such a treat when paired with this ganache recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jadedgurl
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
WOW! Decadant is the word that best describes this! I use semi sweet chocolate chips and no rum. I used this to cover cream puffs and the remainder to dip strawberries in. Sooo easy but sooo worth it. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jadedgurl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
Awesome recipe! It tastes great and was as easy as pie. It was perfect for Valentine's Day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brockton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
I made a variation of this recipe. I used Jack Daniel's instead of rum, to try to complement the chocolate. I also used dark chocolate as opposed to bittersweet chocolate. I turned out amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by suew1127
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
This is a great, simple recipe. I used bittersweet chocolate, no liquor and used to frost cupcakes. I was unsure if the chocolate would be too bitter, but I had cream filled cupcakes so it offset it nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
This was my first ganache and it was super easy. I used Ghiradelli bittersweet chips. It made a very dark chocolatey ganache which my husband loved. Personally I prefer milk chocolate so I might try this with milk chocolate chips next time, or at least half milk chocolate. It poured nicely over my cake and looked beautiful. I reserved about a half cup of it to whip into "frosting." After taking it out of the fridge it was very stiff. I had to nuke it in the microwave for 30 sec. on 50% power to make it soft enough to whip. Then I tried to pipe it onto my ganache covered cake, little blobs to press fresh strawberries onto. Unfortunately the whipped ganache was a little too stiff to pipe. This was likely my fault somehow. It still worked, but it wasn't quite the right consistency. Fortunately the strawberries covered it up well enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
This was pretty good- the store didn't have any more bittersweet, so I had to use 2 ounces bittersweet and 6 ounces semisweet. It still wasn't very sweet AT ALL, so in the future I'm going to use all semisweet. I didn't use the rum, however, so I'm sure that really affected the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by :)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Billings, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Carol
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
Very easy and very good. I heated the cream and then added the chocolate to the cream in the pan as instructed by another recipe. Just pour chocolate into cream, shake the pan to cover chocolate and stir after a minute or two. I also added 1-2 tablespoons of butter for the shine it gives. I did not add the rum, but would certainly consider it in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 684) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Ganache

See how to make rich homemade dark chocolate ganache.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Diana's Guinness® Chocolate Cake

An ultra dark, ultra rich chocolate cake with a luscious chocolate icing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States