Chocolate Ganache Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 19, 2007
How wicked is this!! melted chocolate in microwave, then added butter and cream last. Used freshly brewed coffee with teaspoon of sugar to balance the bitterness instead of alcohol. I bought dark chocolate with 70% coco content. Very easy to do...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
136 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2007
I didn't change a thing, and this icing was perfect, and so shiny and pretty on my brownie shortcakes, YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TERRIS911

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Troy, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2007
this is my favorite icing ever! you can use it on so many things! it went incredibly well on jan's chocolate cake. i used amaretto instead of brandy, which turned out delicious, and you can pretty much substitute any licquor. highly recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2007
The flavor was great, and it took me only 1 min. to make this in the microwave. It has a beautiful shine also. I did not use any alcohol, but I'm sure it would be tasty! LOVE THIS RECIPE!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2007
If you are a fan of dark chocolate, this icing is heavenly! I accidentally used unsweetened chocolate and added a little over a half cup of sugar to make up for it (any less and it was much too bitter). It is by no means overly sweet, very very rich and dark. I melted this all in a makeshift double boiler (oven-safe bowl floating in boiling pan of water), took a while but came out very creamy. Decadent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by big_al_728

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2007
Delicious and easy to make. Thank you for this recipe. I used it on the Apple Cake III recipe on this site. Everyone loved it. (Added Khalua instead of Brandy, used semi-sweet chocoloate and only used half of the sugar recipe)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2007
This was great I used it to cover a yellow cake and dipped the tops of mini cupcakes in. I omitted the brandy and did the cooking in the microwave and was shiny and beautiful in like 45 seconds. I think I might want to try and dip cookies in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Runnergirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cypress, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
I found this recipe easy to follow but it is important to allow the icing to cool a little before spreading it between and on the cake otherwise it will spill all over the place. The taste was quite potent of the alcohol which was brandy in my case. After a few days the tast of the icing was better and definitely added to the cake. I was MOST pleased as well as my husband and family. Thank you for submitting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2006
omg, this was soooo good. it was my first time making ganache, but it was so easy and tasted so rich and sophisticated. I used Nestle's Chocolatier bittersweet chocolate chips and didn't add any sugar (personal preference).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RALWATTAR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2006
I halved the recipe and, out of personal preference, heeded the comment of the previous reviewer (Robbie Rice) and used mostly semi-sweet chocolate and a small amount of bittersweet. In place of the brandy, I used chocolate liqueur and vanilla. Like LadyJayPee I made it for the Chocolate Cavity Maker Cake. Nice body & sheen--great & easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Ganache

See how to make rich homemade dark chocolate ganache.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States