Chocolate Ganache Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
Yummy! I used Dove Dark Chocolate and left out the Brandy. If you don't love dark chocolate I would recommend using half dark half milk chocolate to cut the bitterness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2009
Good recipe- I added a splash of coffee which adds a depth of flavor to the chocolate, used it with a french vanilla cake mix, and put chopped walnuts on the top. Very easy and very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Porterville, California, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
didn't work for me - followed the directions but ended up with a chocolate 'sauce' that ran off the cake, even after I allowed it to cool, as suggested by other reviewers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
Excellent, Excellent, Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Silver, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Johnsburg, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
This was fantastic although I ended up needing a thicker frosting because my cake broke so I let it cool a bit and beat in a package of cream cheese and 3/4 cup powdered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kalex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Oswego, Oregon, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
Any kind of liqueur works in this recipe. I prefer Kahlua. Rich and decadent. So much better than a sweet icing sugar laden frosting. I used it to top the fabulous Black Magic Cake from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather Kemp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Odessa, Saskatchewan, Canada
Living In: Balgonie, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
I made a few changes, but it worked out really well in a pinch. I used 1/2 cup skim milk and 1 teaspoon vanilla extract instead of the brandy. Heated the milk, butter, and extract in the microwave, then added semi-sweet chocolate chips & let sit to melt. It took a lot of stirring to melt the chips fully, but that's because of the stabilizers in chocolate chips. Let cool until spreadable & used for a 2 layer cake. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
Great Icing!! I used it on yellow cake. Did not have brandy so I used vanilla extract instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ReneeFS
Living In: Hinckley, Ohio, USA
Photo by executivecatering
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
Yum - O! I made mine with dove milk chocolates and left out the brandy. It came out really nice and smooth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by executivecatering

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
I never made ganache before. This was easy to make, delicious to eat, beautiful to look at and it really impressed my friends! I also added 2 T of corn syrup in the hopes it would be shiny. It was shiny and had the perfect consistency. I topped the New York Cheesecake III with it and I will never do it another way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA
Living In: Yorkville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Ganache

See how to make rich homemade dark chocolate ganache.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States