Chocolate Ganache Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 6, 2009
The measurements are good - the method.... well, I learned to make ganache at a chocolate shop. Heat the cream on Med. heat until it jusssssst quivers on the top. Then pour it over which ever chocolate you choose to use ( I like mine dark!). Let it sit for a minute until the chips are mostly melted, then hit it with a wisk. THIS IS IMPORTANT - start in the middle and wisk until the chocolate incorporates and is glossy, then inc. the rest. Let it sit to room temp. or consistancy you are wanting, and go for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
164 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy K.

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
This is by far the very best ganache recipe I have tried from Allrecipes.com, and I have tried several. I usually use 3 cups semi-sweet chocolate chips and 2 cups heavy cream (which is triple the recipe). This will fill and frost a 10 inch 2 layer cake, including a bit of border trim along the edge and bottom that I put through a decorating tube. I usually use this on Groom's cake made with Devil's Food cake and sometimes I whip the ganache after filling the cake to frost it. This makes the chocolate lighter in color, but in no way detracts from the flavor. I have used it straight without whipping and that is just as good and a bit more glossy. I usually put chocolate curls on the top of the cake for a finishing touch. This is a very simple recipe, and always turns out perfect. It's the only one I will use, unless I want the ganache runny, then I will use the Pro Ganache recipe from this sight. It doesn't set as well and is good when you need it to run down edges and around plates that the dessert sits on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEBI EMILEE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2007
Very rich and decadent. If you're going to make this, you have to use a good quality chocolate or the true taste and texture will be off. I used this as a filling for a torte. In order to do this, after melting the chocolate with the cream, I left it out to come to room temperature. Then I refrigerated it for 30-45 minutes. I used my hand mixer and whipped the ganache into a rich and creamy filling. This changes the color of the ganache from a dark chocolate to a light chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by apedawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by What a Dish!
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2007
Love this- so yummy. I wanted a white chocolate ganache (to go over a dark flourless chocolate cake) so I used (real) white chocolate chips, chopped. I brought the cream to a boil first, and then poured it over the white chocolate, let it sit a few seconds, and stirred it together. I was worried because at first it wasn't incorporating, but I got out a mini wisk and that did the trick. I put it over my cake before it had really set up (because I was impatient) and it was good that way. I let some sit in the fridge for a few hours and it's thick, rich and beautiful. I'll have to try semi-sweet chocolate next!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 24, 2010
Good, basic reference recipe for ganache. For most uses a good rule of thumb is one part chocolate to one part cream, although the ratio can be toyed with depending upon its purpose. Even tho' I'm sure it turns out fine with the preparation method directed in the recipe, I used the more traditional method of bringing the cream just to the boil, pouring it over the chocolate, letting it set for a minute or two, them stirring until melted and smooth. I topped a chocolate cake with this today and it pours very easily if you use your gravy server!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by johana
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2008
what a hit recipe. the simplest ganache. to get smooth shiny coat on your cake: pour while warm, tilt your cake to spread the ganache, do not use any spatula.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by johana

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
WOW...this was SO GOOD (and decadent too!). I had never done a ganache before and used this to top Cream Cheese Pound Cake I from this site. I ended up using Lindt 100g bar of Madagascar 65% cocoa and it was fabulous. Melted all together over low, removed and let cool for about 45 mins as I wanted a pourable ganache. Probably could have left a few mins longer to get it to that perfect consistency, but nonetheless, it was FABULOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANJACKSON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pickering, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2008
I was bummed when I ran out of powdered sugar for frosting. Relieved when I found this recipe. In heaven, when I tasted it. Just used good ol' Nestle chocolate chips and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Harvard, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2007
Fabulous! This made my cake especially fudgy and it looked beautiful. I'm terrible at icing cakes, but this just laid perfectly on it, so much less work for me for a much prettier icing. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
Yum! Turned out perfectly (using the mixing directions of adding the chips to the cream after it's almost boiled suggested by other reviewers). I let it cool for about 45 minutes, and it poured beautifully. I was shocked, because I usually make things that are tasty, but not so pretty. This was gorgeous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States