Chocolate Ganache Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
Everyone loved this. Thanks for the wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
I found this a little stiff- next time I will add additional cream- tasted great though, could really taste the chocolate-not too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
This is by far the very best ganache recipe I have tried from Allrecipes.com, and I have tried several. I usually use 3 cups semi-sweet chocolate chips and 2 cups heavy cream (which is triple the recipe). This will fill and frost a 10 inch 2 layer cake, including a bit of border trim along the edge and bottom that I put through a decorating tube. I usually use this on Groom's cake made with Devil's Food cake and sometimes I whip the ganache after filling the cake to frost it. This makes the chocolate lighter in color, but in no way detracts from the flavor. I have used it straight without whipping and that is just as good and a bit more glossy. I usually put chocolate curls on the top of the cake for a finishing touch. This is a very simple recipe, and always turns out perfect. It's the only one I will use, unless I want the ganache runny, then I will use the Pro Ganache recipe from this sight. It doesn't set as well and is good when you need it to run down edges and around plates that the dessert sits on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEBI EMILEE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
My son dislikes frosting/icing, so I tried this recipe to top his birthday cake. He loved it, as did my husband. I'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2008
This is such a quick and wonderful looking topping...I used to do a messy job with frosting cakes before and was always looking for a better way to make the cake look good and this ganache is the answer! Its so quick and when poured over a cake gives the feeling of a completely professionally done cake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Billerica, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Johana Iskandar
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2008
what a hit recipe. the simplest ganache. to get smooth shiny coat on your cake: pour while warm, tilt your cake to spread the ganache, do not use any spatula.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Johana Iskandar

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
I used this to pour over Lisa's Chocolate Chocolate Chip cake from this site. My cake was already cooled off on a cookie rack, so I placed some waxed paper underneath it to catch the drips. I put it in the fridge for an hour to set, then took it back out and drizzled some white chocolate chips over it (melted with some butter and put in a ziploc bag). It looked FANTASTIC, and tasted just as good. The chocolate cake hating men in my family had seconds. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2008
I made this recipe with Nestle semi sweet morsels. The texture was nice and it set up well after being in the fridge for about 45 minutes. This made it spreadable instead of pourable. I also tried the same strategy with white nestle chips. These didn't firm up as well (even after a few hours) but it was still good. I used both of these ganache mixes over 'dark chocolate cake 1' recipe from this site, the vanilla between layers and the choc. on the sides and top. Incredibly fattening, but oh so good! I think with a better quality chocolate this could be a 5 star recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RAISIN1

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2008
i just love this recipe...it turned out perfect. i had semi sweet chocolate chips in the pantry and didnt have to go out and buy special chocolate..and wait an hour in room temp intill you pour it and it is just perfect...thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2008
Great recipe. I also use this as a base and omit the chocolate, use butterscotch chippits instead and beat it till its nice and fluffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States