Chocolate Fudge Cupcakes with Peanut Butter Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by LINDA REALE
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
My daughter and I made these for her to take to summer camp. We added an extra egg, filled the cupcake papers 3/4 full, put the tbsp. of chocolate chips in the middle and pushed them down a little with a spoon and baked them for 24 mins. They were great; a perfect consistency!! I guess the extra egg helped! The melted chocolate chips made a nice little surprise in the center. The icing was really good too. We used cream cheese icing and added the peanut butter; also added a tsp. of milk to soften the icing a little as per Cookie Queen's suggestion. Thank you for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA REALE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newark, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
I made two small changes--I used chocolate fudge cake mix in place of the brownie mix in place of the brownie mix (the reviews were mixed, I didn't want to waste ingredients since money is so tight. I apologize to those who think I radically adjusted the recipe. Sometimes, you have to go with what works.) and I used Pillsbury vanilla frosting instead of funfetti. These were easy for me to make with my two boys and they turned out really well. I have to say that I was iffy about mixing peanut butter and pre-made frosting but it works. This one's a keeper. My son says he wants this in his recipe box now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
This rating is for the frosting only. I made the peanut butter cupcakes from this site (amazing) and wanted PB frosting instead of chocolate. After reading several recipes I chose this one for ease. Why make all the mess when everything you need for the frosting is already done. It was wonderful and made the cucakes taste even better than they were plain. I did add a TBS if milk to soften it a little since the cupcakes were so moist it just made it easier to spread. Awesome!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookie Queen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Struthers, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
This will be my go to chocolate cupcake recipe. I thought something was wrong when they came out of the oven; they felt very heavy and hard but they were perfect! Dense, rich cupcake. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
This frosting is great, especially for chocolate & PB fans. You may have to experiment with the proportions a bit to find a consistency you like, but I have made these twice now and everybody loves them. I will definitely be making them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
I also added an extra egg to this recipe. They didn't rise up as much as a cupcake usually dose, however they were very yummy! The icing was great, I did add more peanut butter to suit our taste. Not our favorite cupcake, but it is yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
5 stars for these mega addicting, party in your mouth goodness! These are fabulous with so little effort. It's not your fluffy cupcake....it's in between cupcake and brownie...no doubt you'll get requests for this recipe. I didn't change anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mommy3xyz

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
These were easy and quick to make. My sister in law and I made them when we were craving some chocolate and they satisfied that craving! We followed the advice of some of the reviewers here and added an extra egg to make the cupcakes fluffier and 1/4 a cup of milk to the batter because it was REALLY thick. The frosting was very simple and easy to make and we also added a splash of milk to the frosting to make it smoother. Next time we will probably not bake them for the full time because the first batch came out a little overcooked. The second time we put them in for about 16 and it worked perfectly! We had to beat away our guys with the spatulas to keep them from eating the frosting before we had a chance to put it on the cupcakes, it is THAT good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn Ragan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flagstaff, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
I just made a batch of these and since I need to make 72 for a reception on Friday I wanted do a test run. I followed the recipe on the Duncan Hines Family Size Premium Milk Chocolate box which called for 3 eggs and used a mixture of semi-sweet and dark chocolate and they turned out perfect. Allowed to cool for 10 minutes before cutting one in half to check the texture and doneness - perfection! So un-iced they are delicious - can't wait to try the icing too! Will definitely being using this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fran

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Catawba, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ALFANN02
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
5 star for the frosting but it gets a star knocked off for the "cupcakes". The directions were identical to the one on the back of the brownie box. These were brownies and not cupcakes so dont expect a light and fluffy texture cause these arent it. Mine were a lil dry(my fault) but if they werent they would have been amazing. The frosting was heavenly! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALFANN02

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Strawberry Angel Cookies

See how to make moist, fruity strawberry cookies.

Peanut Butter Bacon Cupcakes

What's cooking in Milwaukee? These cupcakes, also known as the Peanut Bomb!

Creamy Peanut Butter Fudge

This smooth fudge combines the flavors of peanut and marshmallow. Delicious!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States