Chocolate Fudge Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by MommyFromSeattle
Reviewed: May 22, 2008
Very good cookie. I'd say the best cake-mix cookie I've made off this website. It is an oily batter and I think the cooking time needs to be increased by 2-3 min. or else you get a very wet, moist cookie that collapses when you pick it up. I use large walnut size dough balls and bake it for about 13 min. Even with this cooking time, the cookies still comes out super moist and stays pretty moist for a few days. I think the recipe could take less oil - 1/4 - 1/3 cup should be enough. Overall, very fudgy and moist and the only cake-mix recipe that actually taste homemade. I will make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
267 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommyFromSeattle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellevue, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
While these can't compare to a homemade chocolate cookie, I'll give them four stars keeping in mind they're a cake mix cookie. They're chewey, and definitely "moist." I'm just not sure if they're "fudgey" or "greasy." The taste is okay, especially since I added 1 tsp. of chocolate extract, but I find the oily dough off-putting to begin with, and the finished cookie is just a little more "moist" than I would like. Maybe cut back a little on the oil to, say, even 1/3 cup?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 20, 2008
I made these cookies about a month ago and they were delicious! I tried making them again and substituting applesauce for oil, and they did not turn out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by archangeli
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2006
I used the Betty Crocker Super Moist Devil's Food Cake mix, and cut up a Ritter Sport Dark Chocolate bar into small chunks and the proportions were perfect. The cookies were vert moist, fudgey and almost melt-in-your mouth good. Thanks for this quick and wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by archangeli

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
Made this cookie exactly per recipe. They came out great. The yield was approx. 32 cookies. Wife and son both loved them. Will deff. make again. Maybe coat the dough balls with powdered sugar per other reviewers thoughts to make a chocolate crinkle type of cookie. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mount Gilead, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
I was craving cookies but had no Brown sugar. I found this recipe and I used 1/2 cup no salt butter, added 1 Tbs. oil, a pinch of salt and 1 tsp. vanilla. The batter is very stiff and you have to use some muscle if you mix them by hand. They turned out very good, but they are rich so make sure to eat them with a hot cup of java or cold glass of milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2008
This recipe is extremely easy to make, and you can add a lot of variety by adding nuts and other ingredients like peanut butter chips, toffee chips, and white chocolate chips. I had to bake them an additional 2 minutes (12 minutes in all) to get them to stick together. They taste like a fudgy brownie when they are done! I will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2005
I made them today........oh my gosh, incredible....so soft and just good.... I added walnuts too....oh yes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
This recipe was just what I needed. I had misplaced my mothers "saucepan fudgie" cookie recipe. It was a great replacement and I didnt even need to use a double boiler. I just rolled them in powdered sugar and they were beautiful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
great cookies and soooo easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STAMPIN426

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tinley Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 186) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

Jumbo Dark Chocolate Cookies

These dark chocolate cookies will double your chocolate delight.

Chocolate Mint Candies Cookies

Bake your favorite thin chocolate mints into these melt-in-your-mouth cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States