Chocolate Frozen Yogurt Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2005
This is the first recipe I tried with my electric ice cream maker. I LOVE it. The flavor is fantastic! And it is soo creamy. I also would probably use a little less sugar and add a little more cornstarch as it did take a long time to thicken up when doing the cooked part of the recipe. But it finally did thicken up for me. Thanks for sharing this recipe. It is a winner with me and a definate keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2006
This was great! The first time I used vanilla yogurt and 3 T. sugar, and 2 T. cornstarch to thicken. I added a shot (1oz) of bourbon, which smoothed things out and added a yummy flavor. The second time, I used plain yogurt and aspartame packets instead of sugar (18 packets = 3/4 c sugar) and it was still delicious. A really good, rich low fat recipe. It benefits from the addition of a spoonful of cocoa powder to enhance the chocolate flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
I used sweetened condensed milk (didn't have evap milk), 1 cup yogurt, 3 tbs of cocoa, and 1/2 cup of chocolate chips. Omitted the sugar and the cornstarch because the condensed milk was sweet enough and thick enough. Using cornstarch to thicken the low-fat milk, though, is a really great idea and one I will probably use in the future :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by branchan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2006
After reading the reviews for this recipe I decided to try it anyway. I think those who didn't have success are inexperienced cooks who don't understand cornstarch. Anyway, I used 2-3 Tablespoons of cornstarch, not teaspoons. 1/4 c. sugar, because the choc. chips are so sweet. I added 3 heaping tablespoons of Hershey's Special Dark Cocoa, Dutch process. Oh, my, what a great ingredient! You have to cook the milk concoction til it boils, which means you have to use some heat to get it to thicken, which it does no problem if you use enough cornstarch and enough heat. My family loves this recipe and I think next time I'll try adding 1/4 peanut butter or a few peppermint sticks for a change. Excellent ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
179 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
I made this recipe exactly as written, and it was DELICIOUS!! I think the cornstarch was the right amount. I poured the mixture into popsicle molds instead of using an ice cream maker. While it didn't freeze hard enough to hold onto the popsicle sticks, it was an excellent creamy texture, and a great low-fat (although it didn't taste low-fat) answer to my chocolate cravings. Thanks a bunch!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phyllis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Metairie, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2004
This is delicious! I used DANNON light vanilla yogurt with regular evaporated milk ( I figured the fat content would even itself out) and just a couple of tbs of sugar because the yogurt was already flavored - mmmm! I also just poured the recipe into my popsicle molds and popped them into the freezer and ended up with chocolate cheesecake flavored fudgesicles! Highly recommended, actually nutritious and ready in no time at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
This was delicious! Smooth, creamy, and chocolatey with a minor background tanginess from the yogurt. Per other reviews I used a tablespoon of corn starch and added a tablespoon of unsweetened dutched cocoa powder. I combined these with 1/2 cup sugar in a saucepan with the evaporated milk, and brought it to a boil, stirring regularly. After boiling for a couple of minutes, it thickened up nicely. Then I reduced the heat to low and added the chocolate chips. I made sure to use good-quality chocolate (Green Black brand cocoa and Ghirardelli chocolate chips). I also used vanilla low-fat yogurt and omitted the vanilla, since that's what I had on hand. The end result was creamy, thick, and chocolatey. It was great right out of the ice cream maker (soft serve consistency) and frozen overnight (hard pack consistency). Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
LOVE IT! I can see how some people might not enjoy the tanginess of the yogurt, but I like the contrast to the sweet chocolate. I didn't have chocolate chips so I used abuelita hot chocolate mix instead (mexican hot Chocolate)a hole disk and less sugar. YUM the cinnamon in the abuelita added a nice touch, Thanks will deffinitly make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by christa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Guthrie, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2008
Great! I used less sugar- only 1/2 cup. I mixed an egg (or you could use egg substitute) into the milk to add some richness, and heated it slowly. I didn't use chocolate chips either. When the mixture had thickened over the heat (enough to coat the back of a wooden spoon- it takes me about 20 minutes), I took it off the burner and stirred in 2/3 cup of chocolate syrup with the vanilla. I felt like some mix-ins so to the churned yogurt I added eggless chocolate chip cookie dough and light eggless peanut butter cookie dough dipped in chocolate. What can I say? I'm a sucker for cookie dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wilco

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
Per the other reviews I added 2 Tbls cornstarch and 1 Tbls cocoa powder. This was absolutely faulous!!! SOOOO rich and creamy. I had a little evaporated milk on hand but next time I think I will try it with regular lowfat milk and one more tbls cornstarch. Very good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Fudge Pops

Cool it down! Turn three simple ingredients into easy frozen fudge pops.

Chocolate Cream Puff Swans

See how to make impressive, surprisingly easy cream puff swans.

Raspberry Chocolate Tassies

See how to make tasty pastry cups filled with chocolate and raspberry jam.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States