Chocolate Frozen Yogurt Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 10, 2004
This is delicious! I used DANNON light vanilla yogurt with regular evaporated milk ( I figured the fat content would even itself out) and just a couple of tbs of sugar because the yogurt was already flavored - mmmm! I also just poured the recipe into my popsicle molds and popped them into the freezer and ended up with chocolate cheesecake flavored fudgesicles! Highly recommended, actually nutritious and ready in no time at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2004
This recipe was very disappointing. It never thickened, either on the heat or when it was put into an ice cream freezer. I wouldn't recommend it to anyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2005
This is the first recipe I tried with my electric ice cream maker. I LOVE it. The flavor is fantastic! And it is soo creamy. I also would probably use a little less sugar and add a little more cornstarch as it did take a long time to thicken up when doing the cooked part of the recipe. But it finally did thicken up for me. Thanks for sharing this recipe. It is a winner with me and a definate keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2005
I am giving this recipe 3 stars because I really enjoyed it, but was in the minority. The flavor didn't go over too well with my husband or brothers. To me it tastes like the icing on a chocolate and sour cream layered dessert my mom makes. If you like chocolate sour cream icing, you're sure to love this! :-) One other note - if you're short on time, definitely add more cornstarch. I used about 1 1/2 Tbsp. and it still took about 20 minutes to thicken up. I also thought it took quite a while to freeze, but maybe it's just my ice cream maker. All in all, I liked this a lot and will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LovesCheese

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2006
This was great! The first time I used vanilla yogurt and 3 T. sugar, and 2 T. cornstarch to thicken. I added a shot (1oz) of bourbon, which smoothed things out and added a yummy flavor. The second time, I used plain yogurt and aspartame packets instead of sugar (18 packets = 3/4 c sugar) and it was still delicious. A really good, rich low fat recipe. It benefits from the addition of a spoonful of cocoa powder to enhance the chocolate flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2006
Very disappointing. It tasted terrible and was NOT at all as the recipe explains. It never thickened and when tasted it was terrible. Save yourself and drive to the grocery store instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2006
This was VERY sweet. I love sweet stuff, but this was just too much. I would halve the sugar next time. Also, I did 2 tablespoons cornstarch which thickened it up very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2006
This is a very rich and tasty frozen yogurt. I never could get it to thicken up but once it was in the freezer for about eight hours it was the perfect texture. This is a great frozen yorgurt recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brigham City, Utah, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2006
After reading the reviews for this recipe I decided to try it anyway. I think those who didn't have success are inexperienced cooks who don't understand cornstarch. Anyway, I used 2-3 Tablespoons of cornstarch, not teaspoons. 1/4 c. sugar, because the choc. chips are so sweet. I added 3 heaping tablespoons of Hershey's Special Dark Cocoa, Dutch process. Oh, my, what a great ingredient! You have to cook the milk concoction til it boils, which means you have to use some heat to get it to thicken, which it does no problem if you use enough cornstarch and enough heat. My family loves this recipe and I think next time I'll try adding 1/4 peanut butter or a few peppermint sticks for a change. Excellent ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
179 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2006
This was so good, the yogurt added just a little tang, and it was much richer than I would have imagined.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chocolate Fudge Pops

Cool it down! Turn three simple ingredients into easy frozen fudge pops.

Chocolate Cream Puff Swans

See how to make impressive, surprisingly easy cream puff swans.

Raspberry Chocolate Tassies

See how to make tasty pastry cups filled with chocolate and raspberry jam.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States