Chocolate Frozen Yogurt Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
Per the other reviews I added 2 Tbls cornstarch and 1 Tbls cocoa powder. This was absolutely faulous!!! SOOOO rich and creamy. I had a little evaporated milk on hand but next time I think I will try it with regular lowfat milk and one more tbls cornstarch. Very good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AUSSIE CASIE
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2009
This was my first foray into the world of frozen yogurt. I couldn't have been happier with the result. I used Lindt 70% dark chocolate and brown sugar for extra richness. I added 3 tbs of cornflour as suggested previously and forgot to get evaporated milk so I just used a cup of low fat milk instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
Very good! taste like a fudgecicle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2008
This was VERY good. I used ony 1/3 cup sugar but I increased cornstarch to 3 tablespoons. I also added 3 tablespoons of cocoa powder (unsweetened) to the chocolate chips and evaporated mile. I used non-fat plain yogurt and it worked well. My husband is not wild about frozen yogurt but really enjoyed this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norfolk, Virginia, USA
Living In: Christiansburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
I didn't have the evaporated milk, so I used half heavy cream and half milk. I also reduced the sugar to about half a cup. I agree that the key is to properly thicken the mixture by bringing it to a boil. I had no issues with this setting up at all. It thickened well and produced a very nice product that my family wants me to make again. I think I'd keep using the cream/milk mixture adn would skip the cornstarch part altogether as it left a slightly funky texture on the tongue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama_B

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2008
Great! I used less sugar- only 1/2 cup. I mixed an egg (or you could use egg substitute) into the milk to add some richness, and heated it slowly. I didn't use chocolate chips either. When the mixture had thickened over the heat (enough to coat the back of a wooden spoon- it takes me about 20 minutes), I took it off the burner and stirred in 2/3 cup of chocolate syrup with the vanilla. I felt like some mix-ins so to the churned yogurt I added eggless chocolate chip cookie dough and light eggless peanut butter cookie dough dipped in chocolate. What can I say? I'm a sucker for cookie dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wilco

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
LOVE IT! I can see how some people might not enjoy the tanginess of the yogurt, but I like the contrast to the sweet chocolate. I didn't have chocolate chips so I used abuelita hot chocolate mix instead (mexican hot Chocolate)a hole disk and less sugar. YUM the cinnamon in the abuelita added a nice touch, Thanks will deffinitly make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by christa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Guthrie, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
This was way too tart for me to even handle...It did thicken for me but I used 2 tbspns of cornstarch instead of teaspoons. I also used 18 packets of splenda instead of sugar. Not going to waste my time on this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2007
I loved this recipe. My husband wasn't keen on the flavour, but the texture is fabulous. I had no trouble getting it to thicken - I think the key is to make sure you cook the mixture until it boils, and make sure it cools completely before putting it in the ice cream maker. I agree with another reviewer this recipe has a very 'sour creamy' taste which may be better suited to tangy fruit (i.e. raspberries, mango etc.) than chocolate chips. I'm looking forward to trying it with fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2007
This really wasn't very good at all. I tried it a couple times and tried other peoples suggestions of adding more cornstarch and cooking it longer but it still didn't thicken properly and tasted quite awful. I definitely will not be making this again. Thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Parksville, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Fudge Pops

Cool it down! Turn three simple ingredients into easy frozen fudge pops.

Chocolate Cream Puff Swans

See how to make impressive, surprisingly easy cream puff swans.

Raspberry Chocolate Tassies

See how to make tasty pastry cups filled with chocolate and raspberry jam.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States