Chocolate Frozen Yogurt Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 16, 2010
Devine. I substituted stevia and honey for sugar. It tasted wonderful. I ate some right out of the mixer and can't wait to dig into the more frozen version. My husband who is a chocaholic said it was fantastic. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2010
This froyo is DELICIOUS! I have some incredible dutch chocolate that I wanted to use, so I didn't include any chocolate chips. Instead, I used 5 heaping tbsp of dutch cocoa, 1/4 cup of sugar, 1/2 cup of vanilla lowfat yogurt, and 1/2 cup of plain whole yogurt. No vanilla extract. It was plenty sweet for our taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
This frozen yogurt has a great texture, thick and creamy. I would definitely make this again. I used fat free plain yogurt and fat free evaporated milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shannon1976

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
I made this fabulous frozen yogurt this evening with the following modifications: *I used Splenda instead of sugar *I used Greek non-fat yogurt *I used a bar of Doctor's dark chocolate (sugar free) *I added three Tbsp on Hersheys special dark cocoa, as another reviewer suggested *I used 2.5 Tbsp of cornstarch *I also added 3 Tbsp Malted Milk powder The milk mixture thickened up beautifully. The result was a creamy, rich, and delicious frozen yogurt! Try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
I found this to be extremely tangy, to the point where I couldn't actually eat a lot of it. I think it was the type of yogurt I used so I can't really blame the recipe for that. Overall it's good, I'd recommend it to others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Brooklyn Center, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
This was really good....but I altered it a little. I used the suggestion of another reviewer and used milk & heavy cream instead of evaporated milk and cut back on the sugar to only 1/2 cup. I also used Greek yogurt which made it pretty tangy but will probably try regular yogurt next time. Refrigerated it for 2 hours before putting it in ice cream maker. Came out great with wonderful consistency!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by iheartchai

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
I changed the recipe somewhat, using 2/3 cup splenda, 1/3 cup brown sugar, 2 tsp cornstarch, 1/4 cup cocoa, 20 oz nonfat evap milk. heated until thick. then removed from heat, added 1/2 cup bittersweet chips, 2 cups strained lowfat yogurt, 2 tsp vanilla and 1/2 tsp cinnomon. beat with mixer until smooth, then cool. once cook I froze it in my ice cream maker. rich chocolate flavor and smooth tangy yogurt. great combo! thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
I made this recipe exactly as written, and it was DELICIOUS!! I think the cornstarch was the right amount. I poured the mixture into popsicle molds instead of using an ice cream maker. While it didn't freeze hard enough to hold onto the popsicle sticks, it was an excellent creamy texture, and a great low-fat (although it didn't taste low-fat) answer to my chocolate cravings. Thanks a bunch!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phyllis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Metairie, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
This was delicious! Smooth, creamy, and chocolatey with a minor background tanginess from the yogurt. Per other reviews I used a tablespoon of corn starch and added a tablespoon of unsweetened dutched cocoa powder. I combined these with 1/2 cup sugar in a saucepan with the evaporated milk, and brought it to a boil, stirring regularly. After boiling for a couple of minutes, it thickened up nicely. Then I reduced the heat to low and added the chocolate chips. I made sure to use good-quality chocolate (Green Black brand cocoa and Ghirardelli chocolate chips). I also used vanilla low-fat yogurt and omitted the vanilla, since that's what I had on hand. The end result was creamy, thick, and chocolatey. It was great right out of the ice cream maker (soft serve consistency) and frozen overnight (hard pack consistency). Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
I used sweetened condensed milk (didn't have evap milk), 1 cup yogurt, 3 tbs of cocoa, and 1/2 cup of chocolate chips. Omitted the sugar and the cornstarch because the condensed milk was sweet enough and thick enough. Using cornstarch to thicken the low-fat milk, though, is a really great idea and one I will probably use in the future :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by branchan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Fudge Pops

Cool it down! Turn three simple ingredients into easy frozen fudge pops.

Chocolate Cream Puff Swans

See how to make impressive, surprisingly easy cream puff swans.

Raspberry Chocolate Tassies

See how to make tasty pastry cups filled with chocolate and raspberry jam.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States