Chocolate Frozen Yogurt Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
I used 1/4 cup of sugar instead of 3/4 cup because my chips are milk chocolate. I only had french vanilla yogurt so I used that and decided on almond extract. I took the advice of others and added cocoa. I don't have an ice cream machine, but this still turned out well. I'm excited to try different flavor combinations! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovetotravel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
Delicious! I changed the recipe a bit, because I love chocolate. Also, rather than sugar, I substituted with the Walmart sugar substitute. It came out wonderfully, very smooth, rich and chocolatey. I'm glad I found the recipe, because I'd gotten yogurt on clearance at the grocery, and needed to use it up. Now we have enough frozen yogurt to last the entire month!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westcliffe, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TAURUSGIRL
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
Made exactly as stated. Was a little bitter, probably due to the bittersweet chocolate. Still good. Really sweet - I think you could cut back on the sugar by 1/4 C. Next time I might try dark chocolate rather than bittersweet and cutting back on the sugar accordingly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAURUSGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA
Living In: Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
I wasn't overly impressed. I followed the recipe exactly - it just tasted too sour for my liking. I suppose it could be because I make my own yogurt, but I can't imagine why that would actually change anything. Texture was great, color was great, taste was less than stellar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chelmo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Encinitas, California, USA
Living In: Carlsbad, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
I made this recipe adding in 1 heaping teaspoon of Dutch Chocolate. I thought it tasted, odd...tart, grainy and too rich. I made this as a substitute for ice cream at a party and no one really liked it. I will not make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BEACHSOSH

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
This frozen yogurt was amazing! I made it a few weeks ago when my bf was over, and everyone loved it. It was gone within a day. The only thing I did differently was to substitute a few tablespoons of cocoa powder and sugar for the chocolate chips. I can't remember how much I used. I think I just kept adding and tasting until I liked it. The plain yogurt added a mild tang to the chocolate that I really liked, and it had a very good consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Morehead, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
My family LOVES when I make this recipe on a hot summer day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
This recipe was way too rich! My husband loves rich chocolate ice cream, but he couldn't even finish a couple scoops of this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
Love love love! I added a tablespoon of cocoa powder, following other reviewers. I also used vanilla yogurt and omitted the vanilla extract. I also didn't have an ice cream maker so I froze it in a metal bowl, whisking it every 45 minutes or so until it was the consistency of soft serve, then I just let it freeze. I'll make this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2010
Overall good, easy recipe, but a bit too sweet for our taste. I had difficulty getting the chocolate chips to melt fully, and left the texture a bit grainy. Made it again, only with strawberries, instead of chocolate. I cut sugar down to 1/2 cup, mixing with the cornstarch & fat free evap milk, cooking on stove until starting to thicken. I used 1 cup of fresh strawberries, pureed in a food processor, and added to the milk/sugar/cornstarch mixture, then added 1 cup fat free vanilla and 1 tsp vanilla. It is GREAT! I used a Cuisinart electric ice cream maker to freeze it, after overnight chilling in refrig. So easy. The texture is very good, creamy and soft. And although all nonfat milk and yogurt, very tasty! The strawberry variation gets 5 stars, the chocolate only 4 stars. I plan to try mint chocolate chip in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Fudge Pops

Cool it down! Turn three simple ingredients into easy frozen fudge pops.

Chocolate Cream Puff Swans

See how to make impressive, surprisingly easy cream puff swans.

Raspberry Chocolate Tassies

See how to make tasty pastry cups filled with chocolate and raspberry jam.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States