Chocolate Frozen Yogurt Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
Richly chocolate and tangy. You do not miss the calories in this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
Wonderful frozen yogurt! It was very creamy and delicious. I changed a few things per other reviewers suggestions. I added more cornstarch and a tablespoon of coco powder, and reduced the amount of sugar. I also used low- fat vanilla yogurt and omitted the vanilla. I didn't have an ice cream maker so I froze it in a metal bowl, whisking every 30 minutes until it was creamy, as another person suggested. The ice cream had the consistency of pudding before it was frozen. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Indiana, USA
Living In: Clarkston, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2012
WOW. I mean, this was incredible. The only reason I'm knocking it down by two whole stars is that it absolutely NEEDED three TABLEspoons of cornstarch. I stirred and heated and stirred some more, but the mixture would not thicken up with the recommended amount. But once I got that right, this was out of this world. I did use a couple of tablespoons of cocoa powder, and my dad thought it was too rich. Most of us thought it was great! Definitely super-rich -- just the 1/2 cup of chocolate chips would be fine. I did use Greek yogurt (almost the consistency of cream cheese), because we make our own. I liked how that helped to keep it thick while it was freezing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
I made this using nonfat greek yogurt and just under 1/2 cup of agave nectar instead of sugar. I thought it was delicious! I also added 1 Tablespoon of rum, so that it would freeze smooth without the little ice crystals. It was good out of my ice cream maker, but it was better after it ripened in the freezer for a few hours. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2012
Great Recipe! it just needs a bit of tweaking. I took everyone elses advice plus my own changes... this is how I made it 1/3 cup white sugar 2 1/2 tablespoons cornstarch 1 can low fat (sweetened) evaporated milk 1/2 cup semi sweet chocolate chips 4 tbls cocoa 1 cup french vanilla yogurt after following the general instructions of the main recipe, I found that my ice cream batter looked more like pudding. I followed other review as to add more cornstarch to the mix which is why my mix turned out more like pudding. Once I added my pudding like ice cream to my ice cream maker, nothing happened. It did not freeze. So I improvised. I added 1 3/4 cups 1 percent milk. and TADA- it froze wonderfully. After having it in the ice cream maker for 20 minutes, the ice cream was not very firm, it looked more like soft serve. I placed the ice cream in a container and let it sit over night. In the morning the ice cream was absolutelly wonderful. It did not turn into a tub of ice, nor was it too soft. It was the perfect hard/softness and when I ran a spoon over it, it created the most perfect ice cream ball. From making the recipe how I have made it. It tastes great! The only thing I will try next time inorder to better it, is use dark chocolate, and cut back on the white sugar even more. Or use chocolate chips with less sugar content. Don't get me wrong, My ice cream batch was not overly sweet, I just personally prefer richer chocolate flavour rather than rich sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
I did not care for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2012
I used Truvia sweetener and nonfat GREEK yogurt. I took another reviewer's suggestion and added three tablespoons of dutch process chocolate. I froze this, then scooped it out and ran it through the blender, then re-froze. That's something I learned to do with homemade frozen yogurt to decrease the ice crystals and make for a smoother end product. Wow oh wow, this was incredible! Everyone loved this, even my froyo hating husband. This recipe will be made a lot this summer, I can tell you that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
Holy was this awesome! I had been hesitant because I've had issues melting chocolate for ice cream (in the past I've ended up with a very grainy mix) but this was awesome. It is super smooth. I made it with Vanilla flavoured yogurt so I cut back the amount of sugar (I'm also not an overly sweet loving person). I think I might have also ODed on the corn starch, but added some homo milk and that seemed to sort it out. All in all, I will make this again for sure! Oh man, it is a delicious way to end a hard day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SuzieQ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bolton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Cookstown, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
I would skip the chocolate chips and just use a good cocoa. The choc chips make it taste funny, unless you are using a good quality chocolate. Definetely cut the sugar down to 1/2 cup. It was sweet enough. I used vanilla yogurt and thought about skipping the vanilla, but after tasting it, I decided to add the vanilla. It helped tone down the tanginess of the yogurt taste. Probably won't use this recipe again, but it was fun trying this as a first. Maybe once I make more icecream I can try it again once I see what works. Est and what doesn't. Great recipe if you just want a little bit of icecream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
it was ok. it needed to harden for several hours after I froze it in the kitchen aid attachment. I will be trying other recipes to see if there is one I like more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Chocolate Fudge Pops

Cool it down! Turn three simple ingredients into easy frozen fudge pops.

Chocolate Cream Puff Swans

See how to make impressive, surprisingly easy cream puff swans.

Raspberry Chocolate Tassies

See how to make tasty pastry cups filled with chocolate and raspberry jam.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States