Chocolate Frosting III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2005
This is a very easy frosting recipe. It is rich, smooth. It is a little on the thin side when it is spread, but is so worth it when you taste it and then enjoy the texture in your mouth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2005
4+ Very easy and yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2005
this is great frosting with everyday ingredients. I substituted 6 tablespoons cocoa powder and 2 tablespoons veg. oil for the unsweetened baking chocolate. It worked great. Mine was perfectly thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
102 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2005
This has excellent flavor, but as a previous reviewer wrote, it is extremely thin. It took me six cups of powdered sugar to reach spreading consistancy. The next time I make it, I will only add 2 TBSP milk to the butter and chocolate. Then I can add more if needed after beating in the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2005
THIS WAS VERY EASY TO MAKE AND VERY GOOD. KEEP THE FROSTING IN A SMALL CONTAINER AND WARM UP A SMALL AMOUNT EACH TIME YOU HAVE A PIECE OF CAKE OR BROWNIE. THIS IS VERY GOOD!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2005
Not perfect but pretty darn good. Of course I didn't follow the recipe exactly..didn't have unsweetened chocolate and so used 1/2 cup chocolate chips and then added enough powdered sugar (about 3 3/4 cups) until I got the consistency I wanted. Next time I'll use a richer deeper chocolate. It made more then enough for a 9 x 13 pan of brownies and we're right now eating the leftovers by dipping fresh strawberries in. (Would be fun at a dinner party kept warm in a candle lit fondue pot with strawberries and marshmellows on skewers). Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DAVIST

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2005
This frosting tasted fine but the consistency wasn't very good. It was way too thin so I added some more powdered sugar as the directions suggested. It was still too thin and slid right off the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DANIELLE BEATTY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Living In: Ankeny, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2005
Yummy! I've never made homemade frosting before, and this came out great! Used it on top of Four Egg Yellow Cake, also on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2005
Excellent and Easy! I made this frosting for some box brownies and it gave rave reviews. I did not even use a mixer...all by hand and was done in less than 10 minutes...we loved it...Consider this one filed in my recipe box!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2005
This turned out great! Was careless in measuring and it still turned out wonderful. Great texture and didn't dry up. Hubby was doubtful there would be anything that toped his favorite store bought- what a pleasant surprise! He requested another cake this weekend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

Creamy Chocolate Frosting

See how to make yummy chocolate frosting for cakes and cupcakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States