Chocolate Frosting III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2007
I followed this recipe exactly, using high quality real butter. My frosting came out seeping with the oil from the butter---it was pretty gross. I threw it away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2007
this is truely a great recipe to keep. however, the color was not as dark as i hoped it would turn out. more chocolate perhaps?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by irvin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2007
This is a great recipe. I was very happy with how it turned out. I did reduce the amount of milk to 5 tabelspoons. It was rich, chocolatey, and better than from the store. I would definately use this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2007
Well I made it just now to decorate two chocolate cakes. I had to add more milk than the 2tsb one reviewer suggested - just poured some in though so I don't know how much! It was a bit lumpy so I guess I should have sieved the icing sugar (?confectioners sugar in USA?). Otherwise, tasted delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mmsparkle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Poole, Dorset, England, U.K.
Living In: Southampton, Hampshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2007
Very good. Easy and delicious. The only thing I did different was to use 4 tablespoons of heavy whipping cream instead of the 6 of milk. It had perfect spreading consistency. It also had a very rich chocolate flavor. I will definatly make again. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2007
incredible!! i left out the cocoa powder and used the white icing for decorating. I had to add about a cup more icing sugar to the frosting though so that it could decorate the cake smoother
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shannie21

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2007
I added powdered sugar until it was spreading consistency and then chilled it. I re-whipped while cooling and before spreading. It was too thick and not very smooth. I added light corn syrup to it and it was wonderfully shiny and easy to spread. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2007
Very good recipe! And really easy for me to make. I'm 16 and trying to cook for many family, and it worked out well. Thank you very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2007
Yikes - this one didn't turn out very good at all. Waaaaaaay too buttery for my tastes. After it was spread on brownies, I had to set paper towels on top to absorb all the extra butter that was pooling on the top. Followed the directions exactly - never had an issue making frosting before. Next time, I'll stick with "Chocolate Frosting I" on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2007
Great icing but I only used two tablespoons of milk and probably just 1 1/2 cups of icing sugar -it came out sweet, chocolaty and really easy to spread -yum. definitely start off with less milk, though , I think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

Creamy Chocolate Frosting

See how to make yummy chocolate frosting for cakes and cupcakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States