Chocolate Frosting III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
I was in a hurry and didn't read the previous reviews, so I ended up adding a lot more sugar to thicken this frosting up. It tastes really good, just wasn't spreadable without the extra sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimmers86

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
Oof, way too sweet. Never again :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
I had to add alot more sugar than was called for and the recipe was way too buttery. I ended up having to blot the icing to remove the seeping butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2009
Did not have chocolate squares so I used 6 tbs cocoa powder and 2 tbs veg oil as another reviewer did and added about another 1/2 to 3/4 more powdered sugar. It separated a bit but after mixing it with the powdered sugar it turned out great. So don't sweat it if it separates while you are cooking it. It works out in the end after mixing. My sister said it was the best she ever had, and I agree with her. Used it on brownies as suggested and they were delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROSIE99901

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ketchikan, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2009
Yummy!!!!!! I need say no more!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2009
A quick and easy recipe I used in an emegency. My 17 yr old daughters brownies cracked when she rolled them out of the dish. We pushed them together but needed a frosting quick to cover the damage. I used the advice of other reviewers and halved the milk and still had to add more sugar to thicken it. It came out very good but next time I'll cut back on the butter too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Meridian, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
This frosting has a good flavor, but when I was boiling the milk, butter and chocolate together the butter began to seperate from everything. I ended up adding in baking cocoa to try and soak up the butter. It turned out fine, but if I make it again I will use less butter. It was also kind of runny, as other reviewers have noted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sulli3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
Loved this frosting. It was a bit thin but with time it hardened. It tasted great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2008
Really tasty frosting, but a bit too thin. It is on the sweeter side as well. But overall I liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
My husband just loved this frosting! He said it almost tastes just like fudge. I also liked it. I will be making this frosting again. I also liked that is was so easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

Creamy Chocolate Frosting

See how to make yummy chocolate frosting for cakes and cupcakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States