Chocolate Frosting III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
While in the end this tasted amazing, I had to make a lot of changes. I had to add A LOT more confectioner's sugar, and after it sat out it got too thick to spread so I had to add a bit of half & half to make it creamy again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
This is GREAT if you are wanting a glaze or icing for brownies as the contributor suggested. I did add a little corn syrup for sheen, but the consistency is wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
VERY GOOD, but you do need to play with the numbers. I used about 1/3 c butter and only put enough milk in to make a consistency I was happy with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Baricat
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
Good flavor, but definitely needed work. I wanted it to look shiny, so I added about 3 Tb corn syrup. Thin, as has been pointed out before, so I placed it in a bigger bowl with ice and water, and stirred gently until it firmed up. Do not use a mixer over the ice and water, unless you want the color to lighten up considerably. I was going for a dark, fudgy look, so I just stirred it with a rubber scraper. It will thicken up on the bottom, where the bowl makes contact with the icy water. Not to worry. Just take it out of the ice water and stir until the thicker part has blended in. Then return to the icy water and continue stirring until it reaches your desired consistency. I was using it for my 9-layer vertical torte, so I increased it by 50%. Held its shape very well, and with the addition of the corn syrup, it sported a lovely, appealing sheen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baricat

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
People pay attention!!! I made this recipe and it is absolutely the best in the world. I made it for a groom's cake and it was eaten long before the wedding cake. Thank you for such an awesome icing!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
Turned out great! It wasn't as thick as I was hoping but maybe that was just an error on my part?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newberg, Oregon, USA
Living In: Lafayette, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
Super fudgey and wonderful! I added butterscotch schnapps to it and it tasted like homemade nutella!! Super delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2011
I found this exact recipe on the powdered sugar pkg. I used only 3 T. not 6 T. milk and it turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Buffy Ehlers Whitney

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Streator, Illinois, USA
Living In: Ottawa, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
Great recipe. Used 4 TBS milk and used for frosting donuts (dipping them in really quick so the frosting sets on the donut)!!!! PERFECT and received rave reviews!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tampet

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Gresham, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
I cut the recipe in half cause I didnt need alot of frosting. But I had no issues with making this recipe. I read alot of ppls reviews. I melted the butter in a pan. I used cocoa powder cause its all we had. Added the vanilla,salt, and cocoa powder. Mixed that til smooth then added 1 1/2 tbs of milk and the sugar. Turned out perfect. I have been trying to find a thick chocolate frosting recipe. This is it. Just gotta know how to work it is all. Thank you for the breat recipe Miss Amy! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

Creamy Chocolate Frosting

See how to make yummy chocolate frosting for cakes and cupcakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States