Chocolate Frosting II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2004
I used it to fill and cover Dark Chocolate Cake I and it was an instant hit! I also used a splash of coffee rather than the coffee powder as we had some sitting in the jug going cold. The coffee really intensifies the chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2007
I added a little more butter because we used it to frost a cake. The family loved it, but it was a bit sweet for my taste. Great with white cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2007
Delicious! I used it for a Dutch Chocolate cake and it was a big hit! I will be using this one again... :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
I subed he coffee for cappichno gorunds and OMG!!! Some of the best frosting for Dark Chocolate cake. Sprinkle powder sugar over the the cake or swirl white chocolate on it. YUMM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kitchenelf

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
I did add butter as this was to frost a cake and another review suggested that. This frosting was DELICIOUS on my chocolate cake!! A hit all the way around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee Gaiski

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2008
Sorry my kids didnt like it the chocolate taste like a coffe over power i did exacly what recipe asked it did not hit for us .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2008
Excellent recipe but to frost a cake you need to double it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
I added 3 times as much sugar to thicken it up because it was so soupy, but nothing was thickening it up, so I had to toss it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
Yummy frosting, covered 9 in round cake. I didn't put coffee crystals so I used 1/4 c. cocoa. I dumped it all in the middle top of cake and it spread out and set up fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by peppi2000

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
Instead of using 1/4 cuper butter i used 6 tbsp. since thats all i had left. so i just used it all. and it came out perfect! i used these on my sugar cookies so delicious! Also, i didnt use the coffee granules, just cocoa powder. once again, very delicious. the frosting will become thicker if you let it sit for about 10 minutes or so. great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

Creamy Chocolate Frosting

See how to make yummy chocolate frosting for cakes and cupcakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States