Chocolate Frosting II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
Way too many dry ingredients. Had to keep adding milk to soak up all of the sugar. Taste was okay but I will keep looking for chocolate frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
I think this frosting had an amazing flavor, and it's very basic and versatile. I used it to frost a chocolate sheet cake, and it was great. Like a lot of other reviewers, I did have to add more milk to give a more smooth consistency so it would be easier to work with and not crumble my cake. Don't be afraid to use this, no matter what you're baking. This frosting can easily be adjusted to your purpose be it a layer cake or brownies, just add the milk and sugar gradually until you have the desired texture. Achieving it is not hard, and you can always let it chill, which helped me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2014
Super delicious, as other reviewers have said not quite as chocolatey as some might like, but still really nice on top of brownies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Candles430
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
Very sweet even though I cut down to 3 cups of sugar... My hubby loved it but it was a bit too sweet for me....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
No problem icing cake, but I've always used the technique of dropping spoonfuls all over the cake and then smoothing it over, so I'm always ensured that there is enough icing. We all loved it. We had it on banana cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catherine Davis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
I tried this recipe for the first time today to frost my husband's birthday cake. It was simple to make. I followed one reviewer's suggestion and just softened the butter and mixed all the ingredients together. Since I put the cake on a platter I needed more frosting to cover the sides. I just adjusted the serving amount and I had the right amount to cover very well. Everyone loved the taste! Very chocolatey and fluffy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
Extremely rich, but very good! I ended up using 3 tablespoons of milk. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marybcurlyq

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hillsville, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
All the right ingredients but the amounts seem way off and I used a different process. I doubled the recipe to begin with. Instead of melting the butter I creamed it until it was light and fluffy then added cocoa powder and vanilla. I did the milk and powdered sugar as I was going. It was seeming way too sugary after just a short time so I added another 1/4 cup of cocoa and some brewed coffee. In the end I think I only used 3 1/2 or 4 cups of powdered sugar for a double batch, so I would suggest adding as you go to taste. I had enough to ice two 9" rounds with a little bit of filling and used some in 2 "mug cakes" I made up with the cuttings from leveling the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
I just made this recipe. It's delicious. If you use Ghirardelli cocoa powder it comes out a perfect brown color and the taste is yummy. This is the first homemade chocolate recipe that I really love!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by luvz2cook
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2013
Tastes great, easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luvz2cook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 158) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

Creamy Chocolate Frosting

See how to make yummy chocolate frosting for cakes and cupcakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States