Chocolate Frosting I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2002
This is a very smooth and easy to spread icing. I chose this recipe because there was no milk in the house, and I had just baked a Crazy Cake(another recipe I found on this site). They went together very well. I'll be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2007
This wasn't at all what I was looking for-- it was a thick chocolate mess almost like ganache but not as smooth or sweet. I had to add twice as much sugar, a tablespoon of milk and a teaspoon of vanilla to make it usable. The only reason I gave it 2 stars is because I'm sure there are other people who are looking for a very unsweet, straight chocolate icing. I just made a bad recipe choice based on the simple ingredient list and directions. (I was looking for "vanilla-chocolate powdered sugar frosting", which I HIGHLY recommend) I MIGHT use this one SPARINGLY (spread thinly) either between cookie sandwiches or on top of them but never on a cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Del Mar, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2009
This frosting was very yummy!!! The taste deserves a five but overall it earns a four. The frosting was very pretty and glossy but it took a while to get it to the right consistency. It took way more sugar than called for to make it perfect. I also added just a little bit of vanilla flavoring. Very yummy with chocolate cupcakes. I will never buy frosting from the store again. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2006
sweet & chocolaty... I was an instant star when I put this on a basic boxed cake recipe. People raved for hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2008
This recipe was absolutely phenomenal. I was making a cake for my best friend's birthday and it was kind of late at night and I had no icing. So I looked on here for something easy with few ingredients, and I found this. So happy that I did. I must point out, however, that it is VERY import to use real stick butter. The second time I made it with my boyfriend, it was watery because I used tub margarine. Also, this afternoon I used the recipe to make truffles. I decreased the amount of water to about 2 tbs. rather than 3, and didn't use the full 1 1/2 cup of powder sugar. The mix was thicker so I made drops and put them on wax paper on a pan in the freezer, and after an hour they were perfect. Sprinkle with cocoa powder and powdered sugar. Bravo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Claire

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2007
Rich in chocolate taste! Was exactly what I needed to frost 9x9 brownies. Didn't seem like enough for a full cake. I will definitely make again, but will double for a cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2006
Very easy to make. I made it by hand, and was nont too tiresome. And it tasted wonderful, and had a nice texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
This recipe can be played with to get it right but as written this is a myriad of adjectives - gooey, grainy and greasy among them, and none of them what you want in a frosting. What a shame, because it tasted great, almost like fudge!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
I use this recipe for everything. It is my favorite chocolate frosting, I do not change ANYTHING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by donnadellocibo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 16, 2009
Super Easy, my 5yr old daughter made it in just under 12 mins..we chilled it prior to spreading to get a little better set-up ...we also added a smidge of vanilla ...good stuff...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Claremore, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

Creamy Chocolate Frosting

See how to make yummy chocolate frosting for cakes and cupcakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States