Chocolate Frosting I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
Pretty tasty. I was actually out of coco powder, so I used hot chocolate mix instead. It was obviously sweeter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Inga

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2010
Excellent fudgy-chocolate flavor and it makes enough to generously frost 12 cupcakes. I didn't rate it 5 stars only because I had some issues with the texture initially--the frosting seemed thick, yet almost oily (I started with with room temp. butter, not sure if that was an issue or not) and it would not smooth out no matter how much I beat it. I added about 1/2 tsp. of vanilla and 1 Tbsp. of milk and it smoothed out the texture and consistency almost magically. I will probably use milk in place of the water in future batches. I received many compliments on this frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2010
I absolutely love this recipe. It's very chocolatey and delicious, I wont ever use any other chocolate frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sandusky, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
The consistency of this frosting was great and very easy to ice a cake with. I usually have bad luck with my frosting recipes from AR and they end up sliding down the side of the cake. This one was perfect. However, the taste wasn't anything I'd rave about. It was good, but not great. The unsweetened cocoa taste was a little too strong. Perhaps I'll add a little less cocoa and a little more sugar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dana C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2010
So easy and taste so much better than store bought frosting!!! Haven't bought frosting since discovering this recipe!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley Drago
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
yum!!! I used coconut oil instead of butter and the frosting was fabulous! great on brownies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
This frosting is delicious and perfect for brownies. I did substitute the cocoa powder w/ baker's choc/butter substitute. I think this helps to keep the frosting moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
A very good recipe. It seems that some people had trouble with it, saying that it was too thick and lumpy. I had this problem too, so to remedy it I added some 2% milk a little at a time until it was spreadable. It seems to work better than adding water for me. Overall, it had a rich chocolate taste and went well with the cake I made it for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Poptart :)

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
Beautiful glossy, dark finish. Very rich & fudge-like. I did use 1/2 cup extra powdered sugar (just to thicken a bit more for my preference) I used this to frost a pan of brownies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VAR122

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Crivitz, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Chippewa Falls, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
I will continue buying store bought frosting! This frosting tasted bitter. I tried adding more powdered sugar and some vanilla as others suggested but it just didn't get sweet enough. Won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 131) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

Creamy Chocolate Frosting

See how to make yummy chocolate frosting for cakes and cupcakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States