Chocolate Frosting I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
Great Recipe-doubled awesome as well. Topped my famouse Banana Choc Chip cake for a bunch of hungry youth and it was a hit!! I used less icing sugar only cause i ran out-i prefer it this way. Add an extra dash of vanilla extract or almond extract it helps play down the sweetness of the icing sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Juanita

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
I took the advice of others on here and increased the cocoa and decreased the confectioner, and it's still too confectionery tasting. Not a fan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JoeCook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
I love the taste and texture of this frosting! I made an okay tasting yellow cake, and this jazzed it up in no time! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
it was pretty quick and easy just too strong of a powdered sugar taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
Just used this to top Dark Chocolate Cake II from this website. I only had skim milk, and no vanilla extract on hand, but this still turned out fine. Definitely reduce the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kiren K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
I decreased the powder sugar and increased the coco. Excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
Wayy too sweet and there's a powdery aftertaste.... if you like tasting sugared sand, try this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
This was absolutely great! Loved it! Will be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rene9109

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
Soooo yummy!! I followed the recipe exactly and I only got 1 cup instead of 2 =(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OolyndeoO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houma, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
I was hoping for a thicker, "whipped" texture like in most of the cupcake photos on here where they have swirls on top. Mine came out quite runny. Maybe adding more powdered sugar would have fixed that, but I felt that it was almost too sweet already, and didn't want it to be more so. I tried adding more cocoa, but it didn't change it much. The frosting also looked grainy. The milk didn't beat in smoothly or easily at all. Is this because I used butter instead of margarine? Or maybe because it was my first attempt at homemade frosting and just missed some unwritten rule? Don't get me wrong, the taste was still nice on the cake that I made, but it's a good thing it was just a square pan cake for my husband and I that didn't need to look "pretty". I didn't get the overall result I was hoping for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingCutie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 489) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

Creamy Chocolate Frosting

See how to make yummy chocolate frosting for cakes and cupcakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States