Chocolate Frosting I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 12, 2012
Seriously? I'm a big baker. Been doing it professionally for years. Decided to try out a new recipe, and this one was horrible. It tasted ok, but super grainy, and way tooo sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
This is what my mom used to make when I was a kid, she made everything homemade. I used butter instead also and it was creamy and wonderful...thx so much for bringing back those memories!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by billidaun
Living In: Weatherford, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
This is sooooo good! I used about 1/4 cup less powdered sugar than the recipe calls for, and I had to add more milk for a creamy consistency. This tastes incredible with the Chocolate Mayo Cake submitted by Virginia Godd. It also looks very pretty. It's WAY better than store-bought frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
for me this tastes too rich. my daughter says it takes like fudge brawny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
with a little tweaking this is an amazing frosting! i used real butter, a cup of cocoa and 1/4 tsp salt. SO GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by josie-d

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
Very good fudgy frosting. Based on suggestions from other reviewers I used 3 cups powdered sugar and a bit extra cocoa powder and a dash of salt. Put in extra milk until it was the proper consistency for spreading.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
I made this on a whim one night and it turned out great. Super simple and tasted just like the frosting that you'd buy from the store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrssabre

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
These were amazing lol I was surprised but the only thing i did different was use a chocolate glaze and not the frosting! Would make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Pahrump, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
I'm so glad i cut down on the sugar. Even without the full written amount, it was really sweet. However, it was an incredible frosting to go with the cake I made, and very easy to spread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
Not great. I tried this with all the suggested modifications and still had to punt. The mixture seized after I added the milk, so I had to re-warm it over a double-boiler before I could blend in the sugar. Then, after sitting covered at room temperature for about an hour, it was too stiff to pipe through a large star tip. Fortunately, I was being lazy and had used a zip-top bag instead of a pastry bag, so I was able to add milk and knead it until it was loose enough to pipe. But then it was too much like ganache to hold any shape and just sort of oozed all over the tops of the cupcakes. It does taste good, but I won't bother with it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dunedin, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 492) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

Creamy Chocolate Frosting

See how to make yummy chocolate frosting for cakes and cupcakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States