Chocolate Flan Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Texas gal
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2013
Seriously...this flan turned out great! I've never made a flan, ever , much less one sitting on top of a chocolate cake. I didn't even have a pan for it, so I picked one up at Kroger's for like $8. It worked out great. I cooked it for 1 hour 30 minutes, and like Kathy F. Suggested, I left the flan in the roasting pan 10 minutes 1st and then put it on a wire rack to cool an additional 15 minutes before transferring it to a plate. It's going to work out nicely for my dinner party tomorrow night. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Texas gal

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kathy F.
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2013
This cake is sooooooooo good !!! Made it exactly as written. Used a rose pattern bunt cake pan. Only had to bake it for 1 hour and 25 min, I let it sit in the hot water after I took it out of oven for another 10 min like I do when making regular flan. I then transferred the bunt pan to a wire rack let cool for about 15 min then inverted. I made this for a picnic we were having the next day so letting it cool and sit overnight worked perfect for me. I bought a foil roasting pan to hold the water and the bunt pan worked out perfect. You wont be disappointed in this flan cake !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy F.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
Wonderful! Did as the others suggested,left it in pan with water for 10 min and had no trouble taking it out. Family and friends loved it; will be making again very soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
Super moist and delicious! Made this just like the recipe said and it came out amazing. The only change was I only left it in the over for 1 hour and 30 minutes and it was more than ready. I had not problem getting it out of the pan. Definitely recommend eating it chilled so the flan is firmer. My boyfriend doesn't really like chocolate cake but for some reason he has not been able to stop eating this one. Turns out he loves flan too :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
If you ever hope to bring anything else to any potluck or event EVER, do not make this cake! It is so easy, and so good, you will be asked for every event to make this cake. That being said, it is VERY good, and I always get comments and requests for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaryEllen Barber

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Midland, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DarleneHart
Reviewed: May 18, 2014
It's my first one so I have nothing to compare too but it was awesome! I was scared following directions thinking how's the milk gonna meet the caramel but it did and was funny to watch lol it all worked out beautifully and my Mexican friend I made it for really liked it too :) oh and we ate it warm and it was still good. I tried it this morning and still yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2014
Made recipe as stated and turned out beautiful and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Alaa.B
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
This is my first flan cake. We don't have caramel topping in my area, so I prepared a homemade one following a recipe from another website. I didn't find devil cake mix so I used the fudge cake mix instead. This cake turned out great and I loved the balance of the flan to cake amount. I made one large cake. You can check the photo. This is so good and will make again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alaa.B

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Damascus, Damascus, Syria

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by dina
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
Came out great. The whole family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
I made this yesterday. I only had a Pampered Chef stoneware flute plan and was concerned about using that in the oven in a pan of water. But no problems. Mine did not take 2 hours to bake; only 1:20. I made the cake with the exact ingredients - no changes. The cake came out great. It is a beautiful presentation. It looks just like the photo. I took it to work today. Everyone loved it. I especially like how moist it came out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Eagle Brand® Chocolate Truffles

See how to make these delicious, decadent sweet treats.

Easy Homemade Ice Cream

Cool off with quick-and-easy homemade ice cream—no ice cream maker required!

Garbanzo Bean Chocolate Cake (Gluten Free)

See how to make a tasty flourless chocolate cake that’s high protein.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States