Chocolate Flan Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
I made this yesterday. I only had a Pampered Chef stoneware flute plan and was concerned about using that in the oven in a pan of water. But no problems. Mine did not take 2 hours to bake; only 1:20. I made the cake with the exact ingredients - no changes. The cake came out great. It is a beautiful presentation. It looks just like the photo. I took it to work today. Everyone loved it. I especially like how moist it came out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kathy F.
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2013
This cake is sooooooooo good !!! Made it exactly as written. Used a rose pattern bunt cake pan. Only had to bake it for 1 hour and 25 min, I let it sit in the hot water after I took it out of oven for another 10 min like I do when making regular flan. I then transferred the bunt pan to a wire rack let cool for about 15 min then inverted. I made this for a picnic we were having the next day so letting it cool and sit overnight worked perfect for me. I bought a foil roasting pan to hold the water and the bunt pan worked out perfect. You wont be disappointed in this flan cake !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy F.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Texas gal
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2013
Seriously...this flan turned out great! I've never made a flan, ever , much less one sitting on top of a chocolate cake. I didn't even have a pan for it, so I picked one up at Kroger's for like $8. It worked out great. I cooked it for 1 hour 30 minutes, and like Kathy F. Suggested, I left the flan in the roasting pan 10 minutes 1st and then put it on a wire rack to cool an additional 15 minutes before transferring it to a plate. It's going to work out nicely for my dinner party tomorrow night. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Texas gal

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
Wonderful! Did as the others suggested,left it in pan with water for 10 min and had no trouble taking it out. Family and friends loved it; will be making again very soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
We had some guests over. They loved it. The children didn't like the flan. I followed the recipe, except it only took 55 minutes to cook the cake. I left the flan to cook in the hot water for 20 minutes after taking it out of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by dina
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
Came out great. The whole family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Alaa.B
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
This is my first flan cake. We don't have caramel topping in my area, so I prepared a homemade one following a recipe from another website. I didn't find devil cake mix so I used the fudge cake mix instead. This cake turned out great and I loved the balance of the flan to cake amount. I made one large cake. You can check the photo. This is so good and will make again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alaa.B

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Damascus, Damascus, Syria

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
AWESOME AND EASY DESSERT. I also baked for 1 hour 30 minutes as others recommended and it was done. Let sit for 10 minutes in the hot water bath with foil off and another 15-20 on a cooling rack before turning over. Came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dee Allyn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2014
This cake is delicious! Very moist, and the flan gives it the perfect sweetness. Perfect the way it is. I didn't change a thing in this recipe. I feel that people who rate and then change ingredients are not being accurate or fair to the cook who sends it in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2014
Made recipe as stated and turned out beautiful and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Eagle Brand® Chocolate Truffles

See how to make these delicious, decadent sweet treats.

Easy Homemade Ice Cream

Cool off with quick-and-easy homemade ice cream—no ice cream maker required!

Garbanzo Bean Chocolate Cake (Gluten Free)

See how to make a tasty flourless chocolate cake that’s high protein.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States