Chocolate Flan Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
If you ever hope to bring anything else to any potluck or event EVER, do not make this cake! It is so easy, and so good, you will be asked for every event to make this cake. That being said, it is VERY good, and I always get comments and requests for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaryEllen Barber

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Midland, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DarleneHart
Reviewed: May 18, 2014
It's my first one so I have nothing to compare too but it was awesome! I was scared following directions thinking how's the milk gonna meet the caramel but it did and was funny to watch lol it all worked out beautifully and my Mexican friend I made it for really liked it too :) oh and we ate it warm and it was still good. I tried it this morning and still yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2014
Made recipe as stated and turned out beautiful and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2014
This cake is delicious! Very moist, and the flan gives it the perfect sweetness. Perfect the way it is. I didn't change a thing in this recipe. I feel that people who rate and then change ingredients are not being accurate or fair to the cook who sends it in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
AWESOME AND EASY DESSERT. I also baked for 1 hour 30 minutes as others recommended and it was done. Let sit for 10 minutes in the hot water bath with foil off and another 15-20 on a cooling rack before turning over. Came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dee Allyn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Alaa.B
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
This is my first flan cake. We don't have caramel topping in my area, so I prepared a homemade one following a recipe from another website. I didn't find devil cake mix so I used the fudge cake mix instead. This cake turned out great and I loved the balance of the flan to cake amount. I made one large cake. You can check the photo. This is so good and will make again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alaa.B

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Damascus, Damascus, Syria

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by dina
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
Came out great. The whole family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
We had some guests over. They loved it. The children didn't like the flan. I followed the recipe, except it only took 55 minutes to cook the cake. I left the flan to cook in the hot water for 20 minutes after taking it out of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
Wonderful! Did as the others suggested,left it in pan with water for 10 min and had no trouble taking it out. Family and friends loved it; will be making again very soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Texas gal
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2013
Seriously...this flan turned out great! I've never made a flan, ever , much less one sitting on top of a chocolate cake. I didn't even have a pan for it, so I picked one up at Kroger's for like $8. It worked out great. I cooked it for 1 hour 30 minutes, and like Kathy F. Suggested, I left the flan in the roasting pan 10 minutes 1st and then put it on a wire rack to cool an additional 15 minutes before transferring it to a plate. It's going to work out nicely for my dinner party tomorrow night. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Texas gal

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Eagle Brand® Chocolate Truffles

See how to make these delicious, decadent sweet treats.

Easy Homemade Ice Cream

Cool off with quick-and-easy homemade ice cream—no ice cream maker required!

Garbanzo Bean Chocolate Cake (Gluten Free)

See how to make a tasty flourless chocolate cake that’s high protein.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States