Chocolate Flan Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by RJM
Reviewed: May 2, 2015
Excellent base recipe that you can make your own. I made my own chocolate chip bundt cake recipe (remember to mix chips with a bit of flour before adding to batter) and followed flan recipe exactly. the flan turns out dense which works well as a cake layer. The way the flan sinks to bottom is amazing! Presentation is gorgeous and tastes just as good. Baked 1 hour 25 min was perfect. Easy to remove from pan and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
Epic fail when removing from the pan! I baked the cake for 1 hour 15 min as others suggested. It tested done so I removed it from the oven and put it on a rack for 15 minutes then inverted it onto a plate. When I did, the cake cracked apart. I really think there needs to be a longer cooling period before removing from the pan. Next time I'll cool the cake in the pan for an hour, then place it in the refrigerator overnight in the pan. Maybe before serving set the pan in some warm water to loosen the caramel before inverting onto a plate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2015
I followed this recipe to a T, I didn't add or subtract anything, I Baked it for 1-1/2 hr and let it cool per instructions. It turned out exactly like the picture, and I was sooo excited to taste it! I had guests and we ate a piece, waiting for that umm umm good experience. We never got it. Even though the cake was moist and beautiful, it tasted like an ordinary packaged cake mix cake, and the fab looking flan was just okay, I thought. I wasn't impressed! I might make a scratch cake, and a bit more of a cream cheese type flan if i did it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
Delicious but more of a cheesecake than a flan. Traditional flan does not include cream cheese so this made the flan part more dense and creamy. It was still a huge hit with everyone, myself included. I wish that the flan part and the chocolate part was more incorporated, like a marble cake, because it felt like I was eating two separate cakes because you'd have to take a bite of each separately because the layers are so thick that you can't get them both in one bite. If you're making this for the first time, a few things that surprised me: when you pour the flan batter in the pan, it'll look like it's mixing into the chocolate batter. It's not, the flan batter will sink to the bottom and the layers will still look great. Also, I didn't have a roasting pan big enough for my bundt pan for the water bath so I used my biggest and deepest skillet and it worked great. And I thing I'm the only one whose cake required the full two hours! The only thing about the recipe that I changed was that I didn't use caramel for the topping, I made a traditional flan topping of caramelized sugar. I would not recommend this because it was a PITA cleaning it out of the curves of the pan. Next time I'll do the caramel!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
I did leave it for 2 hours as the recipe said and the flan did not go to bottom and cake mixture did not rise... Also cake mixture did not cook or set it was still batter. And I have a relatively new oven that normally cooks things rather fast, I also have made several cheese flans in my lifetime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cristina Domi
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2014
I just took it out of the oven and turned it over from the bundy pan it looks beautiful! As far as presentation I give it a 5. Tomorrow night we are having a dinner party and I'm sure it will be delicious. Keep you posted. Posted a pic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cristina Domi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2014
Easy Recipe with Amazing Results! I combined this recipe with the Cola Cake recipe on this website. It requires less ingredients and the cake mix floats a lot quicker due to carbonation. I also recommend liquifying the cream cheese. That way you don't have to deal with a chunky flan mix. Lastly,put aside that American Caramel and replace it with Dulce de Leche. You'll be glad you did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
I don't usually throw up 5 stars, but this recipe definitely deserves it. I followed the recipe as is but baked at 350 for 125-130 minutes. Removed from oven and let sit in the pan/water bath for 10 mins, removed and placed on rack for 10 more mins. Removed foil and inverted onto a plate without issue. Chilled overnight. I couldn't resist eating a big slice for breakfast. Delicious! Even my husband who dislikes flan loved this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Medford, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Naples, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
My flan mixture didn't seep down to the bottom of the pan and it was just a mixture of chocolate cake and flan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Carol Ochs
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2014
I'd been questing after a good chocolate flan cake recipe after we had it had a party, my family and I LOVED it, but the person who made it was all secretive about the recipe and wouldn't give it up! (Party-pooper! A good recipe is MEANT to be shared!) The reviews on this recipe here looked outstanding so I gave it a whirl! I must admit, initially I thought two hours (is that possibly a *typo* on the recipe-provider's part? Two hours???) seemed like a really long time to back a cake and not over-bake it, so I monitored it closely while I was baking mine. I don't know if different oven heating/bake times can vary THAT much that everyone here seems to have such differing results...but after one hour, mine was done, toothpick came out with just a few crumbs on it, and I can't imagine letting the cake go another 30 minutes, let alone another hour without ruining the whole thing! So my only caution would be for you to watch your cake closely the first time you make it to see what your oven's bake time will be on it. On hour was perfect for mine. I also did the 10 minutes continued sitting in the hot water after taking out of the oven, and an additional 15 minutes on a wire rack as others suggested here, before inverting the cake onto a plate. Then I immediately put it int he fridge to chill. The caramel absorbs into the cake and voila! The cake was perfection! Took it to a gathering and it was a total hit! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol Ochs

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Eagle Brand® Chocolate Truffles

See how to make these delicious, decadent sweet treats.

Easy Homemade Ice Cream

Cool off with quick-and-easy homemade ice cream—no ice cream maker required!

Chocolate Lava Cake

Make rich and impressive single-serving chocolate cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States