Chocolate Eclair Dessert Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2004
I have been making this exact recipe (minus the can frosting, see my frosting recipe below) for almost twenty years now. This is a great make ahead dessert to take for gatherings because you really do have to make this the night before or it won't taste right and allow the graham crackers to become soft. Try using chocolate graham cracker and French Vanilla or Cheesecake pudding! **If you have the time, make this chocolate sauce (It is a dead on ringer for Outback's chocolate sauce.) Mix 1/3 cup cocoa, 1 cup sugar in sauce pan. Add 1 teasp vanilla, 1 stick butter, 1/4 cup milk. Boil for 1 minute, then set aside to cool.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1314 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Katy, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2007
This is a very popular recipe that I had tried long ago before this post. The reason so many commented on the frosting being too much for this dessert is a common error. Many times when a recipe gets passed on to family and friends they leave something out or is comes with personal amendments. The similar recipe I enjoy calls for you to microwave the canned frosting (IMPORTANT TO REMOVE ALL FOIL FROM INNER SEAL FIRST) for 15 seconds only. Including this important step changes the consistency of the frosting to a glaze. It really makes all the difference in the world. I have never used the whole can of frosting yet, I save unused portion by replacing lid and storing in refrigerator for another use for up to 2 weeks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
602 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2004
I think this is an incredibly easy, delicious dessert if you make a few alterations. Tips: DON'T use frosting, (in my opinion its too heavy and sweet so it's all you taste) instead use the Chocolate Sauce Recipe below (it'll only take a few extras minutes... Also refridgerate 24 hours before eating so the graham crackers get nice and soft...I use French Vanilla Cool Whip and f.v. pudding for a little something extra...mmmm....Hope I've helped. Chocolate Sauce REcipe: originally submitted by BaysChick (Thanks so much!): Mix 1/3 cup cocoa, 1 cup sugar in sauce pan. Add 1 teasp vanilla, 1 stick butter, 1/4 cup milk. Boil for 1 minute, then set aside to cool.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
518 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2002
I read some reviews and they said that there was nothing to rave about because the desert tasted simple.I tried it anyway and everyone at Thanksgiving dinner was in awe. They LOVED it! My suggestion is that you let the desert sit for about ten minutes before icing. This way the graham crackers mould together with the pudding and it makes the graham crackers easier to ice. I prepared my own icing and by the time the icing was ready, the pudding and graham crackers were at just the right consistancy where the graham crackers would not break when icing. Try this recipe - everyone will thank you for it! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
150 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2002
This is so easy and so tasty! I recommend heating the frosting in the microwave for about 30 seconds and then pouring over and spreading like a glaze (make sure foil wrapper is completely off container first). Makes spreading the frosting so much easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
131 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2006
This recipe is GREAT! I've made it for years and LOVE IT! My Chocolate Topping: NOTE: I double the Chocolate Topping recipe for better coverage. 2 ounces unsweetened chocolate 2 Tablespoons butter 2 Tablespoons white corn syrup 3 Tablespoons of milk 1 teaspoon vanilla 1 ½ cup powder sugar Melt chocolate, butter, corn syrup and milk. Stir in vanilla and sugar. Spread on top of dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
121 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2007
Outstanding! You will definately need 3 packages of graham crackers to do the three layers as described. I use a box of French vanilla and a box of cheesecake pudding. For the frosting, I used a recipe from this site that is no longer available. It was a chocolate sauce from Bays Chick. The recipe is as follows: 1/3 c. cocoa (I used Ghirardelli unsweetened cocoa), 1 c. sugar, 1 stick butter, 1/4 c. milk. Bring to a boil for 1 minute. Remove from heat and add 1 tsp. vanilla. Cool completely. It thickens nicely and tastes absolutely fabulous! This frosting makes this dessert out of this world!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
105 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MORUPE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2002
I have made a simialr dessert. Instead of using graham crackers, I use graham crumbs and I use a jar of melted Nutella spread for the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2003
This dessert takes only about ten minutes to whip up and is very very delcious. I would highly suggest preparing this the night before you plan to serve it, so that you can leave it in the fridge for about 24 hours so that the graham crackers can get soft. The softer the graham crackers get the better the dessert is. Also, it would be best to microwave the frosting for about one minute before topping the dessert off with it. Will definitly make this dessert again and again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2006
In one word...WOW! This recipe is awesome, one of my top favorite desserts. Its SO easy to make, requires little to no chill time, and tastes just fabulous. I doubled the recipe and it layers to the top of a 13x9 pan. My neighbors absolutely LOVED this dessert. I do one layer of chocolate pudding (mixed with cool whip) and one layer of vanilla. I microwave the frosting for 60 seconds and it easily pours over the top for a blemish free perfect glaze. Just be careful, the frosting is liquid so take caution when removing it from the microwave (I ruined one shirt, LOL). This recipe is the bomb though, everyone TRY IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,077) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Eclair Dessert

See how to make a super-easy, no-bake dessert with instant vanilla pudding.

Ultimate Chocolate Dessert

See the easy way to make a rich, creamy, no-bake chocolate dessert.

Chocolate Covered Peppermint Patties

See how to make a chocolate peppermint confection.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States