Chocolate Eclair Dessert Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 5, 2014
I have been making this dessert for many years. Instead if graham crackers I use Club crackers. The crackers get soft like cake and the bit of salt that are on them enhances the flavors. Also, don't use regular vanilla pudding, use French vanilla. This gives it more of an eclair taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
It was so easy and it would be great to take to a family gathering. I made it for a meeting they loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellefontaine, Ohio, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
Cut in half - makes a ton but is delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2014
This was alright, but not great. I made it thinking that my husband would love it (he loves 'creamy' desserts) but amazingly, it's one that didn't get finished. After a week of it sitting in the fridge, half eaten, it had to be thrown out. My husband and I didn't love the use of canned icing. The top layer became quite sticky & thick after being in the fridge for a day or two. Also, the filling mixture REALLY overpowered the graham crackers. It was all just too sweet, too soggy, and too artificial. Probably won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tamara B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nelson, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
Awesome! Such simple ingredients turn into a delicious dessert. To take it up a notch, you really need to make your own chocolate sauce for the topping instead of using canned frosting. Mix 1/3 cup cocoa, 1/4 cup of milk and 1 cup sugar in sauce pan. Bring to full boil, stirring frequently. Boil for one minute, remove from heat and add 1 tsp vanilla and stick of butter. Allow to cool a few minutes before pouring over top layer of graham crackers. Note: I've also halved this recipe in 9x9 pan with good results. You'll need closer to three packages of graham crackers if you make the full recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrieh82

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
Everyone loves it...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
This dessert was super easy, and equally as amazing. I did make a change, and I would highly recommend other people do this as well...I crushed the graham crackers and used a whole box. Some people commented that their graham crackers didn't get soft. If you crush them, and use the whole box, you won't have that problem. I also heated my chocolate frosting in the microwave for 1 minute, and then poured it on. The people I made it for raved about it. I'll definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
I think it was way too sweet. But I liked the idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandaskip

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
Too easy! Mine made like 3 layers though and to make things even funner I put frosting on the graham crackers on the layers, my family devoured this! Using low fat whipped topping and skim milk lowers calorie content so it's still full of flavor and no one knows they are eating lighter. Definitely recommend this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by auraonfire

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vallejo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
This was so easy and delicious! I made it in the morning and by dinner time it was ready to go. I had a neighbor over for some and he ended up eating 3 big helpings! Try it! Make sure you give it enough time for the graham cracker to soften.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GAYLE DONATO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Living In: Gatlinburg, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 1,093) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Eclair Dessert

See how to make a super-easy, no-bake dessert with instant vanilla pudding.

Ultimate Chocolate Dessert

See the easy way to make a rich, creamy, no-bake chocolate dessert.

Chocolate Covered Peppermint Patties

See how to make a chocolate peppermint confection.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States