Chocolate Eclair Dessert Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
This is a keeper. The whole thing was gone by the end of the party. Guests went back for seconds so you know its a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hershey, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
My family loved this. I decided that instead of frosting, I would melt chocolate chips with a bit of oil (microwave thirty seconds, stir and repeat until smooth), and top with a thin layer of that. It was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
I have made this several times and if you make this 24 - 48 hours before hand it turns out perfectly. You have to let the graham crackers moisten and become soft for the best flavor. Remember it is supposed to taste like eclairs, hence the name. If you dig right in as the negative commenter stated it tastes just like the ingredients. To make this a very low sugar way, I use sugar free jello (make sure the lumps are out this takes a bit longer with the sugar free type), skim or low fat milk, I use 2%, sugar free cool whip and sugar free frosting. You have to figure at the most you are getting two and 1/2 whole graham crackers, with a regular serving size, which are less than 5 sugars plus the sugars in whichever milk you are using. Please do not think this is fat free, just sugar free which is what I have to watch out for. My husband loves with full sugar or without.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
So far, so good! 1st time making it and it's in the fridge cooling. Looks very yummy according to my son! We do not like frozen cool-whip so I made homemade whipped cream, it worked out just fine?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelly Paige

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
Someone mentioned the spreadability of the frosting. To make it easy, just warm the frosting in the microwave until it is pourable, and then pour it over the dessert. Just be careful not to overheat. This dessert is a FAVORITE at my house!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Momma Amanda
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
Reminded me of when my grandma used to make it for us kids. Absolutely delicious! Licked the plate clean, literally.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
There are a couple recipes that are identical for this eclair, so I want to post on all. This is wonderful. I thought it was good, but my friends absolutely raved. I made just as recipe calls, don't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2014
I took this to a young women and young men activity, everyone loved it!!! It tasted a lot like an actual chocolate eclair!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2014
I have been making this dessert for many years. Instead if graham crackers I use Club crackers. The crackers get soft like cake and the bit of salt that are on them enhances the flavors. Also, don't use regular vanilla pudding, use French vanilla. This gives it more of an eclair taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
It was so easy and it would be great to take to a family gathering. I made it for a meeting they loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellefontaine, Ohio, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 1,091) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Eclair Dessert

See how to make a super-easy, no-bake dessert with instant vanilla pudding.

Ultimate Chocolate Dessert

See the easy way to make a rich, creamy, no-bake chocolate dessert.

Chocolate Covered Peppermint Patties

See how to make a chocolate peppermint confection.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States