Chocolate Eclair Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
I love the ease of this recipe. Tastes wonderful. Only change I make is omitting the frosting and adding more cool whip on top with chocolate shavings on top of that. Frosting is too sweet for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
I've been making this recipe for at least 20 years. My original recipe calls for three boxes of French Vanilla Pudding it has a richer flavor than the regular vanilla. I always use regular cheap graham crackers - don't bother with the cinnamon or chocolate varieties. Also since the pudding mixture is soooooo rich I stopped using frosting and just crumble up some Oreo cookies on top. This is a desert you MUST make the day ahead - the crackers really need to soften in the pudding for it to taste right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
Amazing. All 4 kids are already calling it their new birthday cake, lol. It has high potential to be used with real cake as well as the graham crackers. I'd also suggest a new chocolate sauce, one that isn't so runny even after chilling it for 24hrs in the fridge as another user suggested. Overall, great & inexpensive to make. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deana Stone

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
easy and delicious, just like I remember. A keeper for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
Oh my gosh, this cake is out of this world crazy awesome! Its better than a regular eclair! And so unique and easy! Literally it took me 15 min to make, including the frosting! I am not sure why the "READY IN" time says 2 hours and 25 min! I would say at most 20 min. I would recommend this dessert to anyone who needs a easy dessert that will wow their guests! Just a tip, make sure you only use two 3 ounce packages of cream cheese, most pudding packets have 2.3 ounces, that throws off the recipe completely. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Bake

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
Awesome dessert beloved in my family. Only changes I make are to use honey graham crackers and a different chocolate glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
I only gave this 4 stars, because the chocolate layer on top was to soft. I may have did something wrong. However, the flavors were amazing. I used tradional honey graham crackers too rather than the chocolate one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waterford, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
this was AMAZING! It was very very easy to make and the taste was out of this world. You have to try it, you really wont be disappointed. I only had normal graham crackers and it still tasted great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
Sooo Good! So easy, made with the kids and everyone loved it! Going by other reviews I used french vanilla pudding, honey crackers and I did buy the frosting. Actually I bought two and put an extra layer of frosting in the middle! Made the day before and when I cut into it I thought it would be a mess, but it came out PERFECT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by throwin it together

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Somerdale, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Bellmawr, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
I only gave it three stars because, for whatever reason, the frosting would NOT set properly. I have made this recipe before (not from this poster) and I have never had a problem. Twice I attempted to make it tonight and both times it was fine until it cooled off, then it basically turned into brownie mix, a gritty, grainy nightmare. Definately will follow others users advice and grab the canned frosting instead. UPDATE: Figured out the problem. Not white sugar as in granulated sugar, but 10x instead. Now it looks as I remember!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Swedesboro, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 383) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Cupcake

See how to make the best cupcake ever!

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States