Chocolate Eclair Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
Loved it! But used regular, not chocolate crackers. Also for topping we used: 6 tbsp butter, Two 1 oz squares semi-sweet chocolate, 3 T. milk & 1 ¾ cup confectioner's sugar. Tastes best after sitting in fridge overnight. Will make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
Ppl loved it. So easy to make. Also, it's a great way to use up milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
I made this twice now, the first time exactly as stated, the second with some of the suggestions. Both were excellent and loved by my kids. I used honey grahams the second time as I am not a big fan of the chocolate ones. Also added a tbsp on vanilla extract to the pudding and substituted a can of condensed milk for some of the regular milk. These two additions help make the pudding taste more home made I think. Would love a holiday version- peppermint filling would go lovely with the chocolate grahams.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
This is a great recipe and so easy to make. Every time I make it for potlucks someone asks me to share the recipe. The only thing I do different is add extra melted butter to the frosting. Only using 2 tablespoons make a harder frosting that tends to crack. If you use 4 to 6 tablespoons you will get a softer glaze like you would find on an eclair. I think it tastes better with regular honey grahams crackers over the chocolate ones, but it is good either way. I find that the chocolate graham crackers are sweeter since they are coated with sugar and they tend to get a little mushier than the honey grahams, so the texture is a bit different. Also, let it sit in the refrigerator at least 8 hours for best results. I cannot imagine ever substiting this frosting with the store-bought kind. You must try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
this is an all time favorite take it to everything the only difference is I buy store bought chocolate icing in the tub melt it a little the pour on top of graham crackers then let sit. Works just as good and les hassle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
Loved it! my chocolate topping became a bit too hard. It kept cracking when cutting into pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
My sons girl friend loves this!! She always takes the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
Delicious recipe and very easy preparation makes for the perfect combination. I make it for gatherings at friends/family and also for work...everyone always asks me for the recipe. I typically use the chocolate graham crackers, but you can mix it up and use regular ones too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
Don't make this unless you want to become very, very fat! It's like heroin. I'm telling no lies. It's really wonderful,especially the chocolate topping. I used Ghirardelli cocoa powder and that's the only way to go. It only takes a few minutes to make the topping, so please don't use store bought frosting. The topping is the best part. I also omitted the cool whip and made fresh whipped cream with heavy cream. This helped to cut the sugar and all the other junk in cool whip. However, it made the cake a little too soft this way. In my opinion, if you serve it for company, use the cool whip so that it holds together better. But if it's for home, then make it with the real stuff. I need to wait at least another month before making another one unless I want to buy new jeans! Everyone else, enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spicycook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2012
You can taste the artificial flavors and sweeteners in this. I didn't find it appetizing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 376) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Cupcake

See how to make the best cupcake ever!

Dark Chocolate Cake I

This cake is rich and very addictive. You've been warned!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States