Chocolate Eclair Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
For the ultimate version that everyone will rave about...use regular honey graham crackers w/ French Vanilla instant pudding. (Chocolate graham crackers are fine w/ reg. Vanilla instant pudding.) Make the frosting on the stove w/ the cocoa... the frosting from the can just doesn't cut it. It is quick, easy, and everyone thinks you spent hours making the dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2013
I followed the recipe exactly but something somewhere still went wrong. My pudding mixture was complete liquid, and I thought it was supposed to be more like mousse. My husband suggested refrigerating it overnight anyway. Didn't help, next morning it was just complete mush. I had to throw the whole thing away and run to Walmart to get him a birthday cake. I was really excited about this cake because my husband LOVES eclairs, and it just ended in disappointment :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2013
Great Recipe!! Even though I made alterations to fit my personal taste and what I had on hand, I am sure this would be just as great following the recipe. I used regular graham crackers, (1)sugar free white chocolate pudding (1) Sugar free vanilla pudding and french vanilla cool whip. As others suggested I also doubled the topping recipe. ******The topping is a must, the recipe just says to bring it too a boil, but if you bring it to a rolling boil and time it for (2) minutes before removing it from the heat it sets on the desert much better, and tastes just like the icing on an eclair, YUMMM. Thanks for the great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crystal

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Owensboro, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2013
Delicious! This is one of the easiest desserts i've ever made and very yummy. I split the recipe in 1/2 and assembled it in a 9x6 loaf pan. The only problem was that it fell apart when i was taking it out of the pan, which is my own fault, not the recipes. I will definitely make it again. Thanks Linda!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bothell, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 18, 2013
Tasted great but the chocolate syrup wasn't good and very runny and had to make extra bc it didn't even cover the top of the cake. Suggest using chocolate frosting instead or fudge topping instead. Also used regular graham crackers instead of chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by agravley87

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wytheville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2013
I have made this recipe many times. I use French Vanilla pudding which makes it much richer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2013
I loved it and my 12yr neighbor comes back everyday for more. The best compliment was "If we had this at our bake sale we would have made a $1000.00." She now wants me to make this for her birthday!Did not change a thing other than used honey graham crackers..even better the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
My mother has been making this for 20 + years. I know this is not a "low sugar/fat" site but since I've been trying to maintain weight and am now pre-dibetic I made some very simple changes that do not effect taste hardly at all. Use sugar free pudding, skim milk and in the frosting use Splenda or comparable substitute. I also found low fat graham crackers. Cuts calories and fat WAY down and does not sacrifice taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jsalle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hilliard, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
Moist asked for dessert for our family gatherings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Littleton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
Ive made this for years as well, but always with club crackers...we found that using graham crackers was too sweet for us! Delicious though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 377) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Cupcake

See how to make the best cupcake ever!

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States