Chocolate Eclair Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 6, 2014
You must use INSTANT PUDDING. Cook and Serve Pudding will not turn out right. Also I made a kind of glaze by microwaving 3 T butter with 3 T Milk- not to boiling. Then stir in 3 T cocoa and 1/2 Cup or more depending on taste powdered sugar. Be sure to either sift cocoa and sugar or be prepared to whisk till cocoa and sugar are not lumpy. My family loves this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
i also used the honey and it was much better. i melt the canned frosting in the microwave and pour it over. also i usually do at least 3 layers. Great tip for summer is this is also GREAT frozen!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
Frosting difficult to work with. I followed the directions for the frosting, and let it cool. Then it was hard and dry and unspreadable. How are we supposed to cool it, without it hardening? Had to make another batch of frosting to cover up the first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
This is old-timey, my mom simply called it icebox cake and used regular grahams, not chocolate, and used chocolate pudding sometimes, sometimes a layer of vanilla and a layer of chocolate pudding. It was really a staple dessert at our house and everyone loved it. She did not always top it with cream of any kind, simply crumbled grahams over the top. I still make it the very same way ... it's a snap and always a pleaser.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2013
Great summer dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phyllis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
For the ultimate version that everyone will rave about...use regular honey graham crackers w/ French Vanilla instant pudding. (Chocolate graham crackers are fine w/ reg. Vanilla instant pudding.) Make the frosting on the stove w/ the cocoa... the frosting from the can just doesn't cut it. It is quick, easy, and everyone thinks you spent hours making the dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2013
I followed the recipe exactly but something somewhere still went wrong. My pudding mixture was complete liquid, and I thought it was supposed to be more like mousse. My husband suggested refrigerating it overnight anyway. Didn't help, next morning it was just complete mush. I had to throw the whole thing away and run to Walmart to get him a birthday cake. I was really excited about this cake because my husband LOVES eclairs, and it just ended in disappointment :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2013
Great Recipe!! Even though I made alterations to fit my personal taste and what I had on hand, I am sure this would be just as great following the recipe. I used regular graham crackers, (1)sugar free white chocolate pudding (1) Sugar free vanilla pudding and french vanilla cool whip. As others suggested I also doubled the topping recipe. ******The topping is a must, the recipe just says to bring it too a boil, but if you bring it to a rolling boil and time it for (2) minutes before removing it from the heat it sets on the desert much better, and tastes just like the icing on an eclair, YUMMM. Thanks for the great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crystal

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Owensboro, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2013
Delicious! This is one of the easiest desserts i've ever made and very yummy. I split the recipe in 1/2 and assembled it in a 9x6 loaf pan. The only problem was that it fell apart when i was taking it out of the pan, which is my own fault, not the recipes. I will definitely make it again. Thanks Linda!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bothell, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 18, 2013
Tasted great but the chocolate syrup wasn't good and very runny and had to make extra bc it didn't even cover the top of the cake. Suggest using chocolate frosting instead or fudge topping instead. Also used regular graham crackers instead of chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by agravley87

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wytheville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 383) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Cupcake

See how to make the best cupcake ever!

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States