Chocolate Earthquake Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2015
Delicious. A must bake again recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: College Place, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
Definitely add some coconut extract to the filling!! Also I used 3 cups sugar - next time 2 1/2. I used my conf. oven at 325 and thought 40 mins. would be way long enough...not - BUT the goopier center was still yummy. Also I saved back 1/3 of the cake mix to cover the top - made it very nice looking - therefore the name is no longer fitting ;) I'm sure I will make again!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
Be aware, this can spill over the sides of the cake pan and make a smokey mess of the oven. But it is a delicious sweet cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
This cake was awesome, so moist, rich and ooey gooey good, but I only used HALF of the cream cheese mixture. I cut the cream cheese block in half, stick of butter in half and half lb of powdered sugar. I also used walnuts instead of pecans. I'll be making this for a long time. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kerrville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
Simply Marvelous! A big Hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
This cake is delicious. I would make again. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
I made this tonight because I had a cake mix, a bar of cream cheese and some coconut. It went together easily and I had high hopes. Unfortunately, the recipe directions were inadequate and I acted impulsively, not taking the time to read all of the reviews. Judging from the recipe photo, I assumed one would need to turn this cake out of the pan. Well, the cake bears no resemblance to the photo. The directions do not specify how long to cool the cake, if/when to de-pan it, etc. I made an educated guess (I've been baking for 30+ years) and it was a mistake. I now have a pile of rubble and a mess on my counter. I did taste it and it's rich and delicious but I'm so relieved that I didn't make this for anything important. I'm sure it would be great if we just had explicit instructions. I'll give it another shot if the recipe is amended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JCAFELD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Canton, Ohio, USA
Living In: El Segundo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
I loved this cake. I don't use cake mixes so I followed the recipe for devil's food cake I from this site. It was a lot of work and a lot of dishes, but the end result was worth it. I did layer the cream cheese mixture with the cake as other reviewers suggested, but my filling seemed to fall to the bottom of the cake. Maybe because I did not use a box cake mix. Next time I think I will reserve one cup of the cake mix, spoon over the cream cheese mixture and spoon over the reserved cake mix ontop of it. The only changes I made to this recipe was to decrease butter qty by about half and decrease the confectioners sugar to 1 1/2 cps. I can't wait to make this cake again. Next time I will try it with my brownie recipe or crazy cake recie from this site. Tastes great warm, even better when cooled, and even better chilled in the refrigerator.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by globetrotter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
I made the cake as instructed except I used the suggestion to layer the chocolate and cream cheese. The cake turned out very moist and delicious. It reminded me of a german chocolate cake with the coconut and pecans. Next time I would cut back the amout of pecans, since I am not too big of a fan of nuts in desserts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States