Chocolate Earthquake Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2008
This turned out awful! It was basically mush in the middle of the cake! Way too rich to eat! Don't even waste your time and especially the mess!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Flaquita
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
I first tried this recipe when my coworker brought it in for work. It was delicious, so I made it for my dad's bday. However, before attempting to make it, I noticed that all the cakes looked ugly...like an earthquake had hit it, and the cake my coworker made had the cheesecake filling in the middle (like the picture posted by allrecipes). Therefore, when I poured the cake batter in the pan, I reserved 1/2 of it. Add the cheesecake filling by spoonfuls, cafefully spreading it to make a nice layer, and finishing it off with the leftover cake batter. It cooked longer than stated, but turned out delish while looking beautiful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2007
Taste like a german chocolate cake with the icing in the cake. Wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DSTEELE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Spicewood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2007
This cake is very yummy and very sweet. I gave it 4 stars because it does not cook fully if you follow the recipe. I left it in the oven and told my husband to take it out when the timer beeped... not knowing how to cook, he didn't realize the whole middle was still raw. The edges taste fantastic though... I will definitely make this again but up the temp to 350! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENELLEBELLE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Macomb, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2007
this was absolutely wonderful. I am not a chocolate fan and was a bit confused about adding the frosting to the cake before cooking (i had to read the recipe 3 times before I did it). It was a huge success. My neighbor (who loves everything I cook, but isnt a huge chocolate fan either LOVED it). I have made it 3 times since then. I think I will try it next with a banana cake. Great recipe even though it isnt the most attractive cake. Will definitely make many more times! Thank you so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lantana, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2007
this is sooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2007
EXCELLENT EXCELLENT I am not a big sweet eater but this is divine! Its always a hit I used 2 cups of confectioner sugar plus 1 heaping cup of conf sugar and it was perfect I did cook at 350 for at least an hour though. I just got a new oven and baked it on convection and the timing is correct IF you have a convection oven only!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Perri Pender

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2007
this is great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oconto Falls, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2006
I made this cake for someone's birthday at work, and it was hit. The cake was gone by lunch time. I did find that it was not completely baking at 325 degrees. I baked it at 325 degrees for 45 mins and 20 mins at 350 degrees and it baked well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Algonquin, Illinois, USA
Living In: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2006
Yikes!! Is this one ever rich. Even the kids thought it was too sweet. I would give it 5 stars, however, on ease of making.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABSKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States